We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy and peaceful”

Review of The Slap Cottage

The Cottage where you can stay, overlooking  Scapa Flow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage where you can stay, overlooking  Scapa Flow
The kitchen in the restored crofters cottage The sitting room with fire place and TV & DVD
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Cottage where you can stay, overlooking  Scapa Flow
The kitchen in the restored crofters cottage
The sitting room with fire place and TV & DVD
One of the stunning views from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Burray Village, Burray, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
massuser
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cosy and peaceful”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We really enjoyed our time at The Slap cottage. It was our first (but hopefully not last) visit to Orkney, and this was the perfect base from which to explore. Catherine was a friendly, knowledgeable host and her enthusiasm for the islands was infectious. It's also really quiet -- if you don't mind the occasional quack, cluck, whinnie and bleat (we like them).

Some of the highlights for us:

- Well equipped, from the kitchenware to the washer and dryer, and the books and tv
- Really peaceful and super-cosy on a windy and rainy night
- The cottage was obviously refurbished with love and dedication
- The animals - it's fun being greeted by goats, ponies, chickens, ducks, ducklings, dogs (and a mischievous cat -- don't leave your car boot open and unattended if he's around -- he'll find his way in!)
- The half-hour walk to the pub at the Sands Hotel in Burray village over a quiet country road was beautiful
- The pub itself! Friendly staff, good food and drink

Note that internet access is intermittent, and my mobile network didn't always have a signal. You don't have to go far for a mobile signal, and it's not difficult to find WiFi to check in every day: In Burray, you can use the pub and the Fossil and Heritage Centre cafe, and various places in Kirkwall, including the library. If you really need constant access to the internet, you may want to stay in a town. But if, as I found out, you only *think* you need constant access to the internet, The Slap could be just the place for you to unwind and genuinely get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
thankyou very much for the lovely review of your stay in The Slap cottage, we welcome you back anytime, the animals are all missing you x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mwestwood...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb place to stay and explore Orkney”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Slap is an original place to stay, a genuine restored Crofter's Cottage with a real homely feel. It is surrounded by a working Croft, it is special to wake up to the hens, goats and ponies looking over the fence at you, waiting to be fed! The personal touches with fresh flowers in every room, gifts of wine, fudge and wine on arrival make it extra special.
The cottage is well equipped for all your needs when staying and really comfortable to relax in after a day of exploring the Islands.
The Slap is easy to access just off the main road from St Margaret's Hope to Kirkwall. It has wonderful views across the Churchill Barriers and Scapa Flow.
We will be returning again in the future.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
thankyou for your lovely review of The Slap cottage, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the animals are missing you, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marionsmi...
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent - everything we wanted, and more.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely cottage with a really homely feel - the renovation was obviously a labour of love. Extremely well equipped, spotless, and very comfortable. Catherine was very accommodating and welcoming, as were the extras such as wild flowers in lovely old jugs, eggs, wine, sweeties ... and paddocks right by the cottage with goats, sheep, ducks, chickens, etc. to feed and have a chat to in the mornings. Well, it works for me.

She also made our dogs very welcome. It made a big difference that the area around the cottage is completely dog-proof, so we could have the front door open and not worry about escape attempts.

We enjoyed our stay very much, and will definitely stay again. Highly recommended. Thank you, Catherine.

ps We noticed how accessible the cottage would be for somebody with mobility issues, including using a wheelchair (though probably only if transferable).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything. Catherine's attention to detail is excellent.
Liked least: All was good.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
thankyou for your lovely review of our cottage, glad you enjoyed your stay with us also the dogs, we welcome you all back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulatew
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Orkneys jewel in the crown”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Slap is an historical crofters cottage built in the 1800's, that has in recent years been lovingly restored by Catherine Corsie, her husband Neil and family into Orkney's finest and foremost holiday cottage.
The cottage has been brought into the 21st century with all the mod cons but it has cleverly retained all of its 'olde worlde' charm. The idyllic location of the charming isle of Burray has stunning views of Scapa Flow, The Isle of Copinsay and the historic Churchill Barriers.
Catherine and her family's hospitality is second to none and her knowledge about, and enthusiasm for Orkney is infectious.
We have returned many times to the Slap down the years and were so charmed by Catherine and the cottage that we wrote a novel where she makes a guest appearance !
The novel is titled 'When The Tide Comes In' and Catherine proudly keeps a copy in the Slap for holidaymakers to read.
The cottage is set amongst 6 acres on a working farm and is an animal lovers paradise. Get to know the animals and they will have an hypnotic affect on you.
There are far too many things to see and do on the islands to list here but don't bother going to the tourist information office to find out about the history, archaeology and wildlife just ask Catherine, she is the Encyclopedia Orcadia What she doesn't know about the islands is not worth knowing.
As with most other holidaymakers including us, one visit here and you will almost certainly return. We would strongly advise booking 2 weeks as there is so much to do and see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
thankyou very much for your lovely review, im glad you have enjoyed your stays with us over the years, we welcome you back at anytime, i try my best to make everyones holiday stay to remember
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa S
Carlisle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really welcoming, well equipped and characterful cottagte”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is our second visit to the Slap, this time for 2 weeks and as ever we were made extremely welcome by Catherine with all sorts of Orkney treats and her own warm welcome. It was lovely to arrive to a cottage filled with wild flowers in every room! It is the best equipped self catering accommodation that I have ever stayed in, and it was a joy to come back and relax in The Slap after a day out. It was good also to make the acquaintance of all the animals again too. We are already planning the next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome and comfortable cottage
Liked least: Nothing - couldn't fault it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
thankyou for your lovely review, it was a pleasure once again to have you all to stay, look forward to seeing you all again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing