We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of America Cottage

America Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
America Cottage
Across the Pond The Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
America Cottage
Across the Pond
The Garden
Across the Bridge
Lounge looking North West
Lounge looking South West
Lounge looking North
Lounge with open fire
Lounge with open fire
Kitchen looking North
Kitchen looking North
Kitchen looking North
Bathroom
Homemade shortbread
Bedroom
Bedroom looking South
Bedroom looking South
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Forres, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bnic1948
Welwyn Garden City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A1 accommodation, in the perfect location to visit the region.
We were using the cottage as a base to visit old friends. Absolutely perfect
Stuart & Heather are the workaholic hosts, they never stopped.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
“Pictursque”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Clean and tidy cottage, friendly owners. Great country views with local wild life. Spacious cottage for two.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness
Liked least: Use of washing machine
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helenron2...
Leek, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb accommodation and location”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

America cottage is ideal for a peaceful and relaxing break. It's comfortable, cosy, well equipped and a lovely place to return to after exploring the surroundings. We know this area well and this is the by far the best place we have stayed and we would recommend it to anyone. Stu and Heather work very hard to maintain the extensive grounds and keep everywhere looking lovely; we appreciated the shortbread, flowers and supplies awaiting us and also the friendly welcome we received. We definitely hope to return there, it's just perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extremely comfortable bed
Liked least: Struggled a bit with internet access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrankG49A...
Accrington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for a week 17th -24th May 2014.Heather texted us whilst we were on route to say the cottage would be available from 12 p.m. Would have liked to talk to them, but they were going away until Friday night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and comfort of the rooms. Not far from Chanonry point were we went to see the dolphins.
Liked least: The garden wasn't as secure as we expected. One morning the postman turned up driving fast up the drive and our dog thought
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolinea...
Thurso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful rural cottage in beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Many thanks to Heather and Stu for a lovely week in America Cottage. The gardens are delightful, and the setting is so relaxing - listening to the birds and watching the deer grazing in the fields. The cottage is very comfortable with everything one could want for a self-catering week - tea and homemade shortbread waiting for us (yum!).
It is also ideally placed for the popular tourist attractions of Moray, Inverness and The Cairngorms - Culloden, Fort George, Loch Garten and much more.
Billy the dog was made most welcome too. A super let at a reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and rural privacy
Liked least: Open access to lane (exuberant young dog had to be on leash , but we knew that was the case when we booked).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing