We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing
Reviewed 3 January 2012

After an exceptional New Year's Eve party last year we followed up with the same again this year. There were 13 of us including 2 children and without exception we all agree that the reception, service and food quality were all truely outstanding. We had a three course meal and mince pies to finish all served up by superbly charming and efficient staff managed by Craig and Graham. The disc jockey covered the night with enthusiasm and was full of life. I have heard of not so good reports of this establishment in the passed but can honestly say that it is by far the best deal in central Scotland for Hogmanay. Can't wait for next year !!

Room Tip: We did not stay the night but the hotel has wonderful views of the Forth Bridges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank macandhilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 762 of 898 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

we arrived at brooks queensferry on the 30th to the 1st of january as a party of 4 (dickson) had high expectations of a brilliant new years eve party it was fine when we first got there tea,s coffee with cakes scones etc as was our first dinner which was a good because it had a choice of mains desserts as well first night fine second night new years eve the food was good but very small portions & no choice now my wife does not like sauce of any kind but steaks appeared & hey presto peppercorn sauce covering the whole dish i complained & asked for steak with no sauce & it did get changed but it seemed like it was the very end of the cow cause it was tiny & full of fat & gristle grub on the whole big let down on new years eve also & this is the crux there were lots of english people at this gig 6 at our table so i guess they thought great what a night we are goin to have after the meal was finished & cleared up the band appeared at round about 21 50 pm they played for about 30 mins 40 tops then had a break then then appeared again about 2300 pm & that was them until 2350 when they left for a break & put on the RADIO to bring in the bells i mean WHATTTTTTTT !!!!!!!!! need less to say the english folks said is this it we said looks like it & guess what it was it it seemed like we the public were on our own & just got on with it there was no staff in the room at all now i would have thought a manager at least would be on hand to help celebrate this so called scottish extravaganza lol as a scotsman i was very embarassed by this whole affair specially when our english friends stood there open mouthed wonderein whats goin on i mean they travelled hundreds of miles & for what abyssmal very very poor paul the manager is gettin an email from us as well he introduced himself on the first night then that was it never seen him again the breakfasts were the best thing about this hotel a buffet type deal fine hotel staff were nice (well some of them ) the room was basic we had tea coffee makin facility on closer inspections found the tray where the tea was sittin on was stained with spilt beverages dont get me wrong the hotel was good but the cleaning need seriously looked at bear in mind this was meant to be 4 star not good enough will not return to this hotel for either xmas or new year dunno about any other time like i said very embarrasing

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dartschamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I have just return after staying at this hotel for a conference from 18th -20th November. The staff at this hotel are without exception the most attentive and friendliest I have ever came across, nothing is any trouble, always smiling and engaging with customers. This hotel has stunning views and I can only agree with other reviews. The room was lovely large and clean with a lovely comfy bed and welcome power shower to fresh in the morning. The food was excellent.

Thank you one and all for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InverkipKippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I have just returned from a business trip to Edinburgh and had a very enjoyable stay in the Brook Queensfeery Hotel, I stayed from the 30th October to 4th November and dined in the hotel over the four nights. The room that I had was suprisingly large with a fantastic view of the Forth road Bridge and the Firth of Forth.

The hotel is located 15 min drive from the centre of Edinburgh, is ideal for both business and pleasure, especially if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

The staff were both professional and very helpful, but my best praise is for the dining, over the four nights myself and my colleagues dined in the restaurant, the food was incredible with a great selection and this was every night.

I will definitely stay in this hotel again and would recommend it highly. I have stayed in many four star hotels , that were nowhere near as good as this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niall0byrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The Queensferry is well situated on the banks of the Forth of Firth next to the Forth road bridge. It is a pleasant hotel with a mixture of business and leisure guests. The large bedroom (room 210) was very nice with a huge comfy bed. Best of all was the lovely view of the water, watching a few boats sail past. The hotel was quiet overnight and I had a great night's sleep.
The food was of a good standard although I did find I had to wait a little while when I only ordered a main course in the restaurant. Breakfast was fine with all the usual choices.
The hotel has a small bar area with a few chairs and sofas in which I enjoyed a couple of gins & tonic. It does not have any facilities as such but is well placed for a nice walk. There is at least one pub in walking distance in north Queensferry.
Whilst closer to Dunfermline, the hotel is within easy reach of Edinburgh, whereby you can get a train from either North Queensferry station or Inverkeithing for about £5.50 return, much cheaper than parking in the city.
All in all I would reccomend the hotel is you are staying in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water, preferably on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Queensferry
3.4 km away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Queensferry) Hotel
Premier Inn Edinburgh (South Que...
#2 of 4 in South Queensferry
499 reviews
9 km away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Novotel Edinburgh Park
Novotel Edinburgh Park
#74 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,320 reviews
2.6 km away
The Staghead Hotel
The Staghead Hotel
#4 of 4 in South Queensferry
26 reviews
2.6 km away
Orocco Pier
Orocco Pier
#3 of 4 in South Queensferry
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing

Address: St Margaret's Head, North Queensferry KY11 1HP, Scotland (Formerly The Queensferry Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > North Queensferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Queensferry
Price Range: $106 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views across the Firth of Forth, our hotel and venue offers spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi and our destination restaurant, The Shore Grill & Fish House. Our restaurant serves a menu of both international and traditional dishes, using fresh, local produce. Edinburgh city centre and Edinburgh Airport are 12 miles from the hotel. Inverkeithing Rail Station is 2 miles away.There is ample free parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensferry Hotel North
DoubleTree By Hilton Edinburgh - Queensferry Crossing North Queensferry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing