We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house in beautiful surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ladywell House

Ladywell House from the north
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ladywell House from the north
view from the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Ladywell House from the north
view from the front door
Floor Plan
Drawing room
tv room
Kitchen
Kitchen with AGA
Dining Room
Dining Room
conservatory
conservatory
Shand Kydd bedroom
Shand Kydd bathroom
Palace bedroom
Diana's bedroom....decorated for her.
Lomond bedroom
Mezzanine landing
Family bathroom
Mezzanine bathroom
Harry bedroom
Top floor family bathroom
Wills' bedroom
Large garden
Not included !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Falkland, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NeilJ117
1 review
“Beautiful house in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 26 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Ladywell house is a beautiful old house a couple of minutes walk from Falkland village. We went there with 8 adults and 4 youf children to celebrate my father in laws 60th Birthday.

There was plenty of room in the house and the views were fantastic. Edinburgh and other tourist hotspots are easily within reach from the house as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Thanks, Neil, and delighted that the house and area were perfect for your trip and celebrations; the weather was perfect too!! Take care and do come back again. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aealdegue...
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Absolutely beautiful house! Our time at Ladywell House was amazing! It had so much charm and felt like a home away from home! All the rooms seemed so grand and the whole house seemed to be taken with such care.

We had our wedding in the conservatory and it was so beautiful and romantic (it was late in the evening with tons of candles ). We were in contact with Duncan since last year and he was very fast in responding, very professional and so nice!

The house had everything we needed to make our dinner and cake for our big day! I've never personally used an AGA stove / oven, but I used the one there and I loved it! The kitchen seemed our central point - but that may be cause we're cooks!

We also spent a good amount of time in the drawing room. It was so relaxing and beautiful!

Other members of my family that stayed at Ladywell House, really enjoyed themselves there as well! I think it was a great break from the busy city that we all needed. The surrounding views were absolutely beautiful and so peaceful!

We definitely will be back again to stay at Ladywell House! Such a lovely stay!

Thank you so much Duncan!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2017
Delighted that the 'Big Day' went so well, and that the house was perfect for your party. We do hope that you will find an excuse to come again, and wish you all the very best for your life together!! Best wishes. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherta...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely house spoiled by the landlord”
Reviewed 30 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely house in the fife countryside. Great sized kitchen table and dinning room table. Good base for exploring the area. Rooms all of great size and plenty of bathrooms so no queues in the morning. Garden was well maintained and nice and enclosed for the children. The heating was not allowed to be touched one evening it did not come on and we were all sitting huddled under blankets with the fire on in the living room. We phoned duncan who asked if we were from the south (insulting in its generalisation and irrelevant as we live 90 mins south west of the location). There were large post it notes on the heating with strict instructions not to touch....disappointing. Some of the furniture looked extremely old and fragile so we were constantly asking the children to stay out of certain rooms in case of accidental damage- did not feel we could relax. We had arranged with the owner for a later check out at 12 rather than 10:30 (with 4 young children 10:30 was always going to be ambitious). Rather disappointingly the owner arrived 2 hours before 12pm to (I assume) check on us. Ridiculous standards of how he wants the house left- as a family we always leave a house tidy but asking the party to strip the beds, fold the dirty bed linen, vacuum the floor etc. I was half expecting him to ask us to wash the windows and make up the beds for the next visitors. The owner was also disgruntled that although the beds had been stripped the washing was not folded however he arrived 2 hours before our arranged time of leaving so not everything was sorted by that time. This all left a very bad feeling among the party- before the last 3 hours of our trip it would of got a good 4 out of 5 but 2 out of 5 is a generous rating now.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
So many thanks for the positive review and kind words about the house and the facilities. Sorry about the confusion during our telephone call at 10pm on Saturday...it was I who was in the South, in Drury Lane in London, and I never questioned where you stayed.........we have corresponded since June, and I am from a place less than 40 minutes away from your home!!! Chinese whispers and a bad mobile telephone line I assume!!!! The thermostat is set for 27 degrees so that the house is warm, and the boiler is only 2 years old and has worked perfectly up to your visit, and since...however, my apologies if the house was not warm enough. There is a sign on the thermostat requesting that it is not adjusted.
You mention the furniture: Yes, we have some lovely old family pieces in the Drawing Room, and I do request in my notes that they are to be sat on carefully. I could have removed all lovely and precious family pieces and replaced them with IKEA or similar, but the majority of our guests do appreciate the ambience and the lovely fine furniture and pictures, as well as the homely and warm atmosphere.
We agreed an early check-in on 22nd and late check-out with you, as we always try to do, to accommodate guests wishes. At 10.50 am I knocked on the door to come in to say hello, as I had promised to do. I was warmly greeted, and asked in. I found a huge pile of washing just inside the door, and started to sort it for collection by the laundry company. I mentioned that the laundry required to be folded.
On 7 September, 2 weeks before your arrival, I sent our Terms of Letting, giving details about what was required, offering house-keeping services daily, every second day, twice a week, etc. You didn't accept the offer of help in cleaning. Some guests prefer to clean the house during their stay and prior to departure, but we always offer cleaning services as others do not wish to spend time on holiday cleaning. The Terms of Letting and instructions left on the kitchen table entitled 'Before Departure' do request that the house is left as it is found, clean and tidy. We do ask guests to remove and fold bed-linen as it takes only a minute to do each bed as it is stripped, and avoids the need for me to be sorting dirty linen...not all of it is always pleasant to handle! We also request that guests empty their bins before departure. I am not squeamish or have a weak stomach, but emptying bins containing used sanitary products is not appealing.
Not terribly important, but we do request that guests report damage. 3 glasses were broken, as evidenced by broken glass on the kitchen floor and in the dishwasher. No mention was made about the breakages prior to your departure or since.
We are very sorry that wires were crossed and that this adversely effected your enjoyment of what was a perfect stay.
Please do feel free to revert to me if you require clarification of any points raised.
Kind regards
Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arbredeju...
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Remarkable!”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We rented Ladywell house in June 2017 for a gathering of our grown children, their spouses, and our young grandchildren. Our host Duncan was delightful. The house is extremely well appointed for a rental property, absolutely quiet, and includes exquisite antiques, multiple living spaces and beautiful bedrooms (sleeps a possible fourteen - we were ten and had lots of room!). The large walled garden was a delight for our small granddaughters. The close proximity of Ladywell House to the royal village of Falkland (ten minute walk) became the occasion for happy family walks and discoveries: one of the historic Stuart palaces is here, with its oldest in-use tennis court in the world (16th c). A Solstice Celtic music festival was taking place during three days of our week-long stay. The village counts two traditional pubs, one of which is historic; a fine tea room that serves lunch; one hotel with a fine restaurant; and several really lovely shops with local crafts, etc. Falkland shopkeepers were extremely friendly and helpful. Modern amenities such as an excellent supermarket are within a fifteen minute drive (large shopping center in the town of Glenrothes, whose historic inn and golf club also offers a traditional daily "high tea" (must reserve). Best of all, Ladywell House is situated within easy reach of Edinburgh (70 minute drive or 50 minute train), Sterling (45 minute drive), Saint Andrews (only 35 minutes!); also many other beautiful Fife villages within 20 minutes in all directions, and not least, the lower end of the Scottish Highlands (Cairngorms National Park southern entrance = 70 minutes), affording every kind of outing and hike. Our own group consisted of student-age young adults; married young adults with small children; middle-aged "young" grandparents. The wide diversity of possible activities to do together as a family, or apart in "sub-groups," was part of the attraction of Falkland. Ladywell House itself was frankly the other greatest attraction! Best of all for our group was the immediate proximity of superb day hiking in the Lomand Hills Regional Park - right behind the village of Falkland - with its beautiful small mountains and moors. These were easily accessible to our whole group including our small granddaughters. We loved Ladywell house, truly appreciated our kind host Duncan and we absolutely hope to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
We are delighted that everything was perfect for you and the family, and are very touched by the many compliments and words of praise! We loved having you all here, and hope that you can visit again when Henry chooses a Scottish University! Take care, and look forward to seeing you all again.
Kindest regards. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstyc10...
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I hired Ladywell House for a hen weekend. From the very first contact with Duncan to view/book and arrival he could not have been any more helpful. He was so welcoming. The house is absolutely beautiful and spacious. Fully furnished and equipped with everything you need, and more!!! The views were amazing, and everyone enjoyed sitting in the garden in the sunshine. Everything was perfect and Duncan was always around if any help was needed. Definitely reccomend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thanks so much for the lovely review, and delighted that everything was perfect...even the weather! I do hope that the 'Big Day' goes well, and please do let me know when the party-place is required again!! Take care. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing