We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming period property in a really quiet...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cupar, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sheila G
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming period property in a really quiet location”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Overall our family enjoyed our stay here, however the plumbing was incredibly noisy in the lower double bedroom and we had to fix the toilet,the flush button of which had obviously loosened for the previous occupant.Also,the shower in the twin room was feeble.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Hi Sheila, I agree the plumbing can be a little noisy. With the house being built over 300 years ago and the Pavillion never being designed to be lived in, we have to use macerators in the bathrooms. We are currently looking for another option but are quite restricted in what we are allowed to install. Thank you for highlighting the twin room shower, I will see what can be done with that. Hopefully you enjoyed your stay otherwise and your daughters wedding all went to plan!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley A
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend Melville House what fantastic place to stay !”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I would Highly recommend anyone to visit this House ...Its is amazing in every way .. The family made us so Welcome and looked after us second to none ..We were celebrating a friend's 65th Birthday ..and we were looked after like royalty ..the History on this Property is also amazing ... The rooms are enormous , The east wing is excellent and provides easily for a family .. We are so close to other villages that is a fantastic Base ..I am most definitely going back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Rooms are stunning and enormous
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandapat
Coltishall, Norfolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Converted tea house makes for compact three level accommodation.”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This former tea house to Melville House has recently been renovated as a holiday accommodation. The three bedrooms are all nicely decorated and are en suite. The showers work nicely with good pressure, but the old plumbing pipes require loud macerators and the ventilation isn't sufficient. The double and single bedrooms are on the ground floor. The middle floor has the twin bedroom and a small kitchen while the top room is a windowless room with a sofa, two chairs and a dining table for four. The kitchen at this time includes the bare minimum of small pans and tools so cooking anything other than an egg and toast at breakfast is a challenge. That said, the manager was extremely friendly and accommodating. She brought over two of her own larger pans so that we could cook for five in the evenings and laundered the towels midweek, offering to throw a load of laundry in for us. The tv reception had not yet been sorted, but there was a selection of mostly children's DVDs. We were happy that we were there with good weather so we could sit outside rather than in the windowless sitting room up top. Our youngest loved that she could spend time in the elaborate treehouse near the main house. We did like the setting and the peaceful area and happily explored around Fife, Edinburgh and even Glasgow. All in all, the bedrooms were fine for sleeping, the people were friendly, the setting nice, but the windowless attic sitting room/eating area was not inviting and the lack of sufficient cooking tools for meal preparation was a disappointment. The property seems most suited for travelers who will spend most of the day offsite and eat out.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IronBalls...
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed for a long weekend, Sarah and her family made sure we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay. Lovely period house in beautiful surroundings.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing