We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great holiday, central location, but a few issues”

Review of Merchant's Rest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GlasgowSc...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday, central location, but a few issues”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Hadn't realised the accommodation was a flat - although on 2 floors - and the external photo includes the entrance location (through a common close) but not the property itself.
Problems with window mechanisms in main room - some repairs are needed. We were lucky to have hot weather and needed windows to open! Shower wasn't draining on arrival - plumber repaired it quickly.
We reported one of hob rings not working on arrival.
None of beds made up as double on arrival however was arranged speedily; suggest you check requirements before arrival.
Chest of drawers: front fell off top drawer on touching. No remote for DVD.
Delighted with location, lovely peaceful garden. Well equipped, clean throughout, and bright upstairs.
Feel that for customers paying £1000 a week its unreasonable to be asked to go to the Kingask office to collect and deposit keys, that towels are not included in price, that rubbish had to be removed from property at end, property to be left clean and tidy by 10am - and an assessment was made by cleaner upon which the return of the deposit depends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, bright, garden
Liked least: plumbing and window problems
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosamaria...
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scottish holiday molto molto bello”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I (6 of us) stayed in the beautiful house for a week during Crail food festival.
It was our first family holiday in Scotland from Venice Italy, so that my husband could experience the worlds best golf courses and so the children and I could relax and experience the scottish seaside.
The home was in the perfect locale for our needs; in centre of town and minutes from the stunning rocky beach - with a little swing park to keep the children happy.
We were especially pleased with the large dining area and well equiped kitchen were we enjoyed lovely lunches - with fresh fruit and veg from the local farmers shop- looking out to the garden and seaside. We even managed to get enough scottish sunshine for a bbq on the lovely patio in the garden.
We were also very pleased with the layout of the casa- split over 2 levels- My husband and I made use of the downstairs bedroom and bathroom. While the children were kept amused by the dvds and board games upstairs.
Overall I was extremley pleased with the large family home in Crail and would reccomend to other families. Very clean and molto molto bello.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large spacious rooms
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family get away”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week in this modern spacious apartment. 7 of us stayed for a week in merchants rest including one young child. We had a very good week despite being rained off the golf course once. The apartment has a large living/dinning area with large windows on three sides with a sea view and two large comfortable leather sofas. The double bedroom downstairs is spacious and has it's own shower room. The utility room down stairs was also a god send for dumping our golf bags and drying our waterproofs (they have a pulley). Overall the place was very clean and had all the facilities we needed and the little one loved running around a large garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluelou60
scottish highlands
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“view of the sea!”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Was delighted to be able to see the sea from the apartment.athe apartment is on two levels.down stairs is one bedroom with large bathroom,walk in shower and acsess to shared back garden.The stairs are quite narrow and unsuitable for elderly.The rest of the apartment is all on ground level,batroom with shower over bath,good sized well equipped kitchen.( could do with big teapot in flat)Lounge is very airy with huge windows on three sides.comfortable beds and sofa's.had problem with loo and lights in lounge,but all was rectified very quickly.would be nice to have more subtle lighting in lounge.from street the property is a wee bit difficult to find.maybe a sign with apartment name on it would be helpful in the dark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you in the near future.

All of us at Kingask
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorty999
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good but could be better”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I booked Merchant's Rest for a week away with the family. Crail is a lovely place and even better when the weather is good.
The house is spacious which is ideal when so many people are sharing.
There's an outdoor area and the lovely large garden is shared with the other residents although we didn't see any.
I filled in the feedback form and asked for some feedback prior to filling this in and haven't heard anything so I can only report how things were.
There is a smell of damp in the downstairs bedroom - a concern as we had a small child and an asthma sufferer but there was a dehumidifier. We aired the place and it was much better by the end of the week. There was supposed to be a tumble dryer but wasn't.
The bin area at the door could have done with a sweep and a wash. I would hope that the owner would welcome honest feedback

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large windows in lounge
Liked least: Not all windows opened in the lounge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay, I must agree, Crail is a wonderful setting and the sea views from the garden are marvellous. Thank you for your feedback, we have updated the web listing and have notified the owner of the property concerning your issues with the house, we hope to have these resolved in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing