We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Holiday in Wonderful Accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crail Posthouse

Main Bathroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom - November Sunset Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Main Bathroom
View from Main Bedroom - November Sunset
Sitting Room
Crail Harbour
Sitting Room
Kitchen/Diner
Lobster creels at Crail Harbour
Main Bathroom
Kitchen Diner
Castle Walk
2nd Bathroom
Local Ceramic
Staircase
Main Bathroom
View from Sitting Room: Crail High Street
Roomebay
Beach near Balcomie, Crail
Heron, Roomebay, Crail
Pittenweem
Crail Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DockerT
Aberdeen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday in Wonderful Accomodation”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just back from a 1 week holiday staying at the Post House in Crail. We travelled as a family of four with our 2 medium sized Dogs.

From booking theholiday right through to our arrival at the property, property owner David was constantly in contact and very effecient throughout the whole booking process. On arrival there was a lovely welcome hamper sitting on the kitchen table and the house was nice and clean and even on a cold March day it was well heated for our arrival. There was also plenty of clear and concise information on the property itself and attractions in the surrounding area.

The property is perfectly situated in the centre of the lovely fishing village of Crail. Directly above Crail Fishbar, opposite a good butchers shop and a 1 minute walk from the Local Coop which is well stocked with all the essentials you need for a pleasant stay. The dogs were able to stay in the utility/ wash room of the property and blankets and information were provide. The nearest walk was only 3minutes away, taking in the beautiful Fife Coastal Trail with with panoramic views of the Firth of Forth and Crail habour. We were even able to make use of the local Kennels at short notice (Paw Prints) on one of the days, with the dogs day boarding for just £12, and excellent service that I can highly recommend.

Amongst the many days out we had the most notable were Kingsbarns Beach (only 5 mins away), Tentsmuir Beach, St.Andrews beach and the Aquarium, Dundee Science Centre, Elie harbour and Beach and a lovely fish supper at The Anstruther Fish & Chips Bar. The nearest larger supermarket was in a Cooperative in Anstruther (5mins away) or Morrison in St. Andrews (15min drive).

We had a wonderful family holiday and were sad to leave the Posthouse.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Thanks very much for the kind and informative review!
For information for other dog owners, please note that the Dohertys chose to have their dogs sleeping in the utility room but we don't restrict where guests' dogs sleep.
David & Marysia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgrant300...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very comfortable accommodation - can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Exactly as was advertised and all that we had hoped for, plus more. Very spacious, clean and cosy. Close to coastal walks, local shops (butcher across the road offers a great selection, steak pie was very tasty) and a great hotel - coal fire, friendly staff and fantastic bar meals at The Golf Hotel. Highly recommended by us all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locality - although on High Street still a very peaceful setting.
Liked least: Having to come home/go back to work!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LG77
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We are a family of four and have just returned from a 3 night break staying in the posthouse. We had a fabulous break made even better as the weather was so kind to us!
The accommodation is infitting with the area. The property is set over 3 floors so not for anyone with mobility problems. The quality of the accommodation is good and has everything you could need. The selection of books and DVDs was also great. The owners were on hand for any queries and we found them great to deal with. The welcome basket contained basics like bread, butter, eggs but also some green and blacks chocolate and prosecco, we really appreciated it! Crail is a very picturesque village and definitely worth a visit. The posthouse is well located and a great location for a Crail break, you won't be disappointed! Thanks to David and Marysia Nash (owners) we loved your home!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne M
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High quality, very comfortable, accommodation in the heart of Crail.”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from spending a long weekend staying at David & Marysia's lovely house in Crail. The Post House has well-proportioned, tastefully decorated, rooms and although there were just the 3 of us, the two spacious double bedrooms and cosy, single bedroom provide ample sleeping space for 5. The house is large enough that you never feel cramped or as if you are living on top of one another. The attention to detail is excellent, with great welcome goodies and a very well-equipped kitchen.
I am mystified by the gentleman's earlier description of the house as dark and gloomy. On the contrary, most of the windows are large and let in lots of light.
What a joy it was, after a long, coastal walk, to soak in that wonderful, free-standing bath in the beautiful upstairs bathroom. Fab, power shower too. We also loved the cosy upstairs, library snug.
I've rented lots of accommodation in many different locations and can confidently say that the Post House in Crail is now in my personal Top Ten.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
childrens...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous homely comfortable, truly dog friendly”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We had an excellent week. Excellent location, very comfortable home from home. Lovely hamper, everything on doorstep for a great week. Great for golf (dogs allowed on courses), beach, walking, pub, shops and sightseeing. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and dog friendly
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing