We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“East Neuk Heaven”
other travellers have booked this property
Stylish cottage by the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stylish cottage by the sea
Master Bedroom Master Bedroom 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Stylish cottage by the sea
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom 2
Master bedroom
Living room 1
Living Room 2
Kitchen
Cottage above harbour
Second Bedroom with twin beds
Second bedroom with twin beds converted to a super king bed
Local fishing boat
The cottage from Shoregate
Nearby East Neuk village of Anstruther
View from terrace
Cottage from Castle Walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andy61201...
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“East Neuk Heaven”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Myself and my wife have just returned from a fabulous short break in 21 Shoregate.
The cottage is excellent in both decor and location, the east neuk is a special part of Scotland. Highly recommended for enjoying lovely walks, pubs and eateries all on your doorstep.
We will certainly return.
Many thanks Susan the cottage met all our requirements and more !!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2015
Delighted to hear how much you liked the cottage and the East Neuk of Fife. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davey1tom
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“21 Shoregate”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have holidayed in Crail for the past 14 years .... And this place was a hidden gem. We've walked past so many times and having stayed here now, we're kicking ourselves!

Everything about 21 Shoregate shouts quality. Fixtures & fittings. Soft furnishings. Nick knacks, ornaments ... etc. all bring a homely welcoming feeling as soon as you step through the front door.

Nothing has been forgotten including a really thoughtful welcome basket. This fisherman's cottage is truly inviting. The bed is super comfy and like the cottage, cosy, warm and and clean. It's a little bit of beautifully decorated heaven.

Thx to Susan for arrangements, ensuring our visit added another Crail memory.

Read the rest of the reviews .... They all embody 21 Shoregate.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Can't believe you walked past the door for 14 years - glad you finally came in! Thanks for your fantastic review. Haste ye back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonKai...
london
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Heaven Haven”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was my third stay at 21 Shoregate and the first on my own. I needed some space to simply walk, write, read, and generally be, and this was the perfect location.

The beauty of this cottage is enough to keep you happily indoors from morning till night, but having the Fife Coastal Path on your doorstep and the beautiful St Andrews just 10 miles up the road mean that you have to venture outdoors as well.

21 Shoregate is one of my favourite places in the world and I long for a return.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2014
Dear Michael, so glad that you found 21 Shoregate the perfect retreat. Hope to welcome you back soon, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne E
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Utterly perfect!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Nina's cozy Crail retreat with divine sea views from the terrace and all the comforts (and more) of home could not have been any more welcoming or spoiling. We have raved to everyone who would listen and hope to go back in 2014. Thank you Susan and the fabulous housekeeper Karen for all the unexpected welcoming touches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderfully comfortable bed!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Dec 2013
Thank you Anne for the fantastic review - susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

This is a most comfortable cottage in a superb fishing village location. The cottage is beautifully furnished and maintained to a very high standard. Everything is provided. We used it as a central location for walking the Fife Coast Path and it proved to be excellent. We took our dog who was made very welcome. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of furnishing and fittings
Liked least: Garden and parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Hi Chris, Thanks for your lovely review! Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing