We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic seafront house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Manse

The Manse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Manse
A genuine 'seafront' property! Front door of The Manse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The Manse
A genuine 'seafront' property!
Front door of The Manse
Utility room
Large kitchen/dining area
Fabulous ground floor living area
Family bathroom
Bedroom 5 with Velux Cabrio windows
Bedroom 5 TV/Playstation
Master bedroom (twin or king)
Master bedroom with wet room ensuite
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 4 view
Bedroom 3 with adjacent ensuite
Bedroom 3 view
Bedroom 1 (ground floor) with ensuite
The 1st floor lounge
View from 1st floor lounge
Patio - and a lot of sea facing windows!
Front garden 2
Front garden and decking
ESPA toiletries
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Anstruther, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NGooth
Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful experience - be warned”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Parked right outside the front door on arrival on the Saturday. Over night on the first night someone keyed the full length of the car.
The owners, when notified didn't seem to care particularly and seemed rather condescending "you've booked for the full week it's your responsibility etc etc"
We left the next day, on the Sunday as there was no way we could stay all week after that happening. The most expensive one nights stay I've ever had.
As above, just be warned.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Anstruther is a quiet fishing village and incidents of vandalism are exceedingly rare. We were as surprised - and upset - by what happened to your car on the public street back in October as you were. Fortunately, as all the other reviews on this site indicate, this was not an unusual occurrence, but truly unique. As to your “warning”, if it relates to parking on a public street anywhere in the UK, then we can only concur: we respect your view, but to single out Anstruther seems a bit harsh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpatr6
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafront house”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a chilled out weekend retreat at the Manse with 9 of my girl friends. The property exceeded our expectations in every way, roomy, well equipped & spotlessly clean. The view and sound of the sea from all the rooms was breath taking, so relaxing looking out on the Forth. A minutes walk from the main street & harbour of Anstruther which had all the required amenities including the famous Chippie!. The coastal walks are great. We chose to walk the 4 mile walk to Crail on one day and the another day to Pittenweem. All the East Neuk villages are pretty quaint but staying in Anstruther provided a great base and staying at the Manse was pretty special too . Will definitely be back with the girls.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Hello mpatr6, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It sounds like you and your friends had a fantastic and very busy time during your stay! I am pleased that The Manse was a great base for you all and we hope to see you return in the future for more walking adventures (and fish and chips of course!). Take care and all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lms619
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a large gathering!”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Everything about this house was fantastic. It is decorated to the highest standard. Fitted out with everything that you could possibly need for your stay. Fabulous situation right on the water front. Cannot fault "The Manse at Anstruther" in any way. Would highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Hello Ims619, wow! well what can we say to that glowing review? Thank you very much, it is just so lovely to read about the great time our guests have had whilst staying in The Manse. We really hope to welcome you back soon. Take care and all the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeatherL1...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Holiday House”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic house and suited our group of 6 adults perfectly. The outlook is stunning and we were lucky to see all weathers on our trip. It's literally a 2 minute walk to the main street of Anstruther and to the bus stop that can take you to other coastal towns - Pittenweem, Elie, Crail etc. We didn't have any problems with parking whatsoever. The side part of the house was too narrow for our cars but we could easily find a parking space on the street. We spent most of our time in the kitchen area of the house, it's a wonderful space and a great dancing area! The heating system was amazing and for a large house, it was really warm and cosy. The house was also lovely and clean on arrival. Couldn't recommend enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Hello HeatherL17, Thank you for your lovely review of The Manse. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your time in Anstruther and that you had plenty room for a little boogie whilst you were there as well! We look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future. Take care and all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isbister1
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely house, great location.”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

A large group of us (6 adults, 5 children) stayed here during the Feb long weekend. The house was perfect for us - there is a wood-burning stove (logs supplied but you can get additional logs from the supermarket just on the edge of town, or the hardware shop just off the main street), a fire pit outside, the best views of the sea and a fantastic kitchen/sitting area.

The beds were very comfortable and we were lovely and warm, in spite of the wild weather we had, and the central heating is easy to use. The kitchen is well-equipped with everything we needed by way of cooking implements, dishes and cutlery, and a dishwasher to make everything easier. The washing machine is out in the entrance hall, and works well, and wet clothes could be taken off and shoved straight in.

There are plenty of bathrooms and the shower in our room (we had the master bedroom) is great - plenty of pressure to scrub the salt off after we'd been out for a walk and had got soaked by the high waves coming over the sea wall. It was a full moon, and extremely high tide combined with pretty high winds, so the kids had a blast 'trying' to avoid the water - and seaweed - coming over the wall to the garden. And all of us really enjoyed hearing the waves from the sea as we went to sleep at night.

The house is so conveniently set near the chippie that there was little need for us to cook, and nipping out for a drink of an evening would have been simple, except we enjoyed staying in and toasting ourselves by the fire while the children toasted marshmallows in the fire pit outside.

There is a playstation 3 on the top floor, which the kids also made some use of, but as it turned out, the waves were a bigger draw. We had a great weekend. Thanks very much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Hello Jean, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a fantastic review of The Manse. It is always a pleasure to read about the great time our guests have had. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Take care and all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing