We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

St Andrews Cheese Company
Ranked #8 of 18 things to do in Anstruther
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Really busy on a rainy Sunday but got sat down straight away.
Everyone enjoyed their meals & I loved the hot smoked salmon on crushed potatoes.
Simple food done well is a winner!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Milton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cheese scone"
in 12 reviews
"soup"
in 13 reviews
"cakes"
in 16 reviews
"st andrews"
in 9 reviews
"viewing gallery"
in 8 reviews
"omelette"
in 5 reviews
"hot smoked salmon"
in 5 reviews
"coffee and cake"
in 6 reviews
"great lunch"
in 4 reviews
"cheese board"
in 3 reviews
"light lunch"
in 4 reviews
"crushed potatoes"
in 2 reviews
"outside seating area"
in 2 reviews
"black pudding"
in 2 reviews
"worth the effort"
in 2 reviews
"fabulous views"
in 2 reviews
"millionaires shortbread"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Service and food was excellent as usual. Lovely views from the cafe out over the Forth. Very accessible for elderly not so mobile parent. And of course sampling cheeses. Very nice. Friendly staff. Out of the way but great location for views and food. Worth a visit.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

Worth a visit to see the cheese being made and a stop at the shop and cafe. Cheese well priced and a lovely location.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank lusys2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018

We stopped here to buy some cheese, but accidentally stopped for a coffee and cake too. There was a good selection of cakes to choose from (none of which had price tags on - always worrying!) but the millionaires shortbread were in big squares so that was an easy decision for me. It tasted even more delicious than it looked, which I wouldn't have thought possible - I've never seen so much caramel filling! Simply the best one I have ever eaten and I have had a few. My husband had a very good cheese scone, and the little one had a gingerbread sheep! We then tasted and bought cheese - all of which was very good. Friendly staff.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank deejay153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped off today for lunch today and had a truly tasty and light as a feather omelette, containing hot smoked salmon, Anster cheese (made there) and mushrooms.
So glad I chose to make here my lunch stop.
Wide and varied cheese centred menu available containing both light snacks and main meals which looked to be beautifully presented from what I could see of others' lunch plates...
Wide range of savoury oatcakes and other, mainly Scottish made, biscuits to go with their own cheeses along with other selected tasty cheeses from around the UK.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank am_grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Andrews Cheese Company also viewed

 

Been to St Andrews Cheese Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing