We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Fantastic Stay!”
Castle View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castle View Cottage
Aerial view of Overhailes Farm, the River Tyne and ruins of Hailes Castle Overhailes Farm in a beautiful landscape.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Castle View Cottage
Aerial view of Overhailes Farm, the River Tyne and ruins of Hailes Castle
Overhailes Farm in a beautiful landscape.
View from Castle View Cottage
Overhailes at harvest
Tyninghame Beach, 12 minutes away
North Berwick in the summer, 15 minute drive.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
East Linton, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
City_love...
Larbert, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

12 of us spent New Year at OverhailesSelf Catering Cottages and have to say I could not recommend them highly enough. Tara came to meet us and check everything was OK, a lovely touch, and nothing was too much trouble. Tara and her husband were at the end of the phone for any problem at all. Tara had put the heating on so cottages were very cosy on arrival on a very cold day, a great welcome. We rented two of the cottages and both were equally fantastic. Very well equipped, the only thing we missed was a dishwasher! We took all our food and drink, huge fridge freezers coped well with all our shopping. Furniture was lovely, and cottages all had wifi which kept the teenagers happy. The location was fab too, far enough away from civilisation but a 30 min walk along the river to East Linton where there was a lovely village pub. All in all a top class self catering stay and so good we've booked to go again! To me that says it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Thank you for your kind words :) You were fantastic guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
109kathy
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We rented five cottages for the family to stay for the weekend to go to our sons wedding.
It was ideal as we could all be together. The cottages were very comfortable and clean with everything one would require. Would certainly use them again if the occasion arose.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All good
Liked least: None I didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrew r
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Thank you Tara for providing such wonderful accommodation and a great friendly service. Four of us stayed for the weekend on a trip to Edinburgh to see the rugby, we arrived on Friday evening at the cottage which as agreed was open with the key on the table. The heating was on so it was nice warm welcome which was very much appreciated. The cottage was beautifully furnished in every room, spotlessly clean and very spacious. Tara had recommended a taxi company Lyntoun Taxis which provided a friendly, prompt reliable service. A short drive to the local pub, The Linton Hotel, which again could not have been more accommodating.

We had a great time during our stay and all four of our party agreed the accommodation could not have been better, excellent!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was superb
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn B
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thanks to Tara our cottage and stay was perfect - the cottage was well kitted out. There for a family wedding nearby.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
djgrayboy
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Accommodation in lovely location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

8 of us stayed here for a golf weekend in mid-August. Accommodation was very nice, clean and spacious. Lovely views from out the front of the property. The cottages are quite a way from town so a car is needed to get everywhere, but this is no problem. Price was great value, particularly compared to other options in the area. Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing