We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent vacation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Curlew Cottage

Curlew Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Curlew Cottage
Open plan living space, wood burning stove, doors to patio,great views across open countryside Ground floor double bedroom, wheelchair accessible
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Curlew Cottage
Open plan living space, wood burning stove, doors to patio,great views across open countryside
Ground floor double bedroom, wheelchair accessible
Spacious 1st floor double bedroom with en-suite shower room, great views
Loch Lomond landscape including Ben Lomond - the backdrop to our cottages
Time to relax, planty of spcae for the whole family
two adjoining cottages which sleep 12-14 if rented together
The spacious kitchen is well equipped
Comfortable living room in Curlew Cottage
Dining for eight in Curlew Cottage, however the table can be extended to seat 12
Ground floor bathroom, Curlew Cottage, with double ended bath and seperate shower
morning cup of tea with a great view - lovely start to your day!
Large kitchen to cater for large celebrations
Super-insulated eco-construction keeps things cosy
Spacious 1st floor twin bedroom
Plenty to do here for the kids
Our welcome pack includes eggs from our hens
Worth the 20 minute walk to our local viewpoint!
Messing about on the Bonnie Banks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Alex G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent vacation”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Steve and Deborah were excellent hosts! Loved this cottage - fully equipped and the rooms were lovely. Only a short drive to the Loch. Lovely eggs and other food stuff complimentary on our arrival! My extended relatives came over from Malaysia and they absolutely adored this place. Will definitely come back again. Thank you again Steve and Deborah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we're really glad your family from overseas had such a good time at the cottage and found it such a good base to explore the Loch Lomond area and the West Coast.
Best regards
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack K
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nothing else like it”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Having looked for what seemed like forever for a cottage suitable for 8 young(ish) adults I was convinced Curlew cottage was going to be too good to be true, however right from the start we where all blown away! We where never short of things to do or places to eat/drink in the surrounding villages and the cottage itself had some great views that inspired us to get up and out into the surrounding country. The fact our fantastic hosts Deborah and Steve lived next door was a huge help yet they where never intrusive. In fact you could tell that they had put a lot of thought into the design of the cottage to make sure you always felt you had your own privacy and space from both them and their other holiday letting. Our whole party have since said how eager they are to return to the cottage and I cannot wait for when we do!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and amenities of property
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review and we're glad your group of friends enjoyed the cottage so much. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Best regards, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosepip
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious, cosy eco-cottage experience in a stunning location.”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

It was such a treat to return to Curlew Cottage - I'd forgotten just how amazing it is. Beautifully decorated throughout, beds so comfy that you sleep soundly all night, fantastic power showers, totally spotless rooms.... totally fabulous. We arrived to battering winds and torrential rain but spent a cosy evening with the log burner going, all 6 of us cosy on the sofas with a nice glass of red. Then a hike on part of the West Highland Way the next day to blow away the cobwebs was followed by a great feast in the kitchen/dining area that evening with plenty of room for extra guests to come and join in! It's not just the fabulousness of the eco-cottages here, but the extra details provided by Debs & Steve that make this a special experience; you feel so welcome that you really don't want to leave! Thanks for a fab time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome & cosyness of the cottage - you want for nothing here.
Liked least: I liked all of it.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Thank you, it was a pleasure to greet you and your friends again. We're glad your stay was so enjoyable and we very much appreciate you booking to bring your families later in the year. Very best wishes, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Place to stay”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Absolutely great cottage, we had 3 generations of family in our group and this place suited them all. Plenty of space for everyone, worked really well for the kids and the adults and my Grandma who appreciated a ground floor bedroom and bathroom. The bread and eggs in the welcome pack were delicious. The owners were really helpful and friendly too. Would certainly recommend this place and would love to come back ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quality of everything
Liked least: leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2014
Hello and thank you for your review, we're glad Curlew Cottage suited your whole family, having some ground floor bedrooms and a bathroom suits those who can't manage stairs so well. Very best wishes, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlkyle
2 reviews
“Superb cottage!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Just back from a fabulous weekend stay at 'Curlew Cottage' where we had a great time. The cottage & surroundings were beautiful & had more than enough room for 8 adults, 3 toddlers & a baby! Our welcome 'treats' were such a nice touch along with the age-appropriate toys, a highchair/booster seat & travel cots! The woodburner made our evenings very cosy although the house was already a very comfortable temperature! Our correspondence with Deborah before our break was so helpful & we were made to feel very welcome on arrival. Will definitely recommend to family & friends!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to review the cottage. We're pleased to hear our 'family friendly' approach hit all the right buttons for your group. Thank you for recommending us to your friends too.
Best wishes, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing