We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Location”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JayneW61
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Gorgeous cottages overlooking Loch Lomond. The owner, Claire, is very warm and welcoming, she greeted us on arrival and made sure to speak to us again before we left. This is the second time we have been to Lorne Mill and cannot recommend it enough. The views are amazing and the cottages very well equipped. It was bliss to sit in the evening with the only noise the clock ticking.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mapcat_00...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Wonderful cottage with beautiful views. Couldn't believe how quiet it was. I mean really really quiet! Absolute bliss. Some great walks around the area and so lucky to have access to the surrounding grounds and woods. The walk into Balloch (about 3 miles) is well worth it. Look out for bench in the trees which offers some nice views over the Loch. It is possible to walk down to the Loch from the cottage although we went the wrong way but ended up following a path that took us on a nice walk through the woods. A good base for exploring. There is a train from Balloch (free parking) to Glasgow at a very reasonable £5.60 return. The owner Claire is such a lovely person. Very warm and welcoming. We felt very much at home. Cant wait to go back next year.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth H
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet, cosy retreat in beautiful location”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Really lovely old stone cottages at the foot of loch lomond - as part of the directions Claire sent us she mentioned rounding the corner to a stunning view over the loch before descending down to the cottages and she was spot on! Claire was the perfect landlord - there to greet us on arrival, around for a friendly chat (and useful local recommendations!) when required, but otherwise left us to it.

Cottage itself was well equipped and so so quiet inside thanks to the 3 foot thick stone walls. These did mean not a lot of natural light inside but you can get plenty of that outside gazing over the loch or on the numerous walks and activities available nearby.

Location wise we found it the perfect place to use as a base to explore the surrounding area, and while small would recommend nearby Balmaha for its coffee shop and pub restaurant.

It was a lovely retreat from the busy-ness of day to day life and we'd thoroughly recommend you to visit!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue-Mark6...
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great base”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Had a fabulous 8 nights. Spent the first couple of days walking in the woodland and down to Balloch and lazing in the grounds. We drove out to Killin. Oban. Inverary and many other places. Falls of Falloch were well worth a visit. As was Kilchurn Castle. We had booked 7 nights but enjoyed it so much asked if the 8th night was free!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weshpengu...
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have just recently had the pleasure of staying in Lui Cottage for a week & loved every minute. The cottage was beautiful & a pleasure to return to at night with so many extras which made all the difference!
The location of the cottages was ideal for us to explore the area with the amenities of Balloch only 10 minutes away. Not forgetting that stunning view over Loch Lomond from the bottom of the garden. We had a fantastic sunny September week & will hopefully return!

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing