We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch”
Review of Ponderosa Bar

Ponderosa Bar
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Dungiven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 45
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Established in 1858, the Ponderosa is a site where history echoes and beauty flourishes and in 2014 a new chapter began seeing the entire building being transformed into an elegant restaurant and bar with a convenient store adjacent. The old building structure is still intact but now is home to a quality restaurant featuring fresh seafood, savoury steaks and favourite local dishes served with a special flavour of the area. Patrons can also enjoy speciality drinks and cordials in the 'Ponderosa Bar' where live entertainment is provided every weekend. The owners and staff strive to make your visit to Ireland's Highest Bar and Restaurant an unforgettable experience providing outstanding food in a familiar and casual atmosphere. You'll find the charm of the Irish in every visit and always feel welcome!
Reviewed 2 October 2018

This bar and restaurant goes by the highest bar and restaurant in Ireland.It is at the top of the Glenshane Pass.Beautiful Views.Very friendly staff and really good food.We had lunch.

Thank MARGARET50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

7 - 11 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

We stopped off while touring Northern Portion of Ireland and had really nice meal. Speciality Sandwiches with Soup and two beautiful latte's .

Partner had mayo with Onion. While I had Formation chicken.with side dressing and onions top drawer stuff. Do stop in friendly staff and worth the break on journey.seven miles outside Dungiven

Thank kevinodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Our family ate here tonight and I have to say we were very disappointed the food was tasteless my chicken was over cooked, dry and under seasoned. My husbands starter of chorizo and garlic melt was bought in frozen garlic bread with pepperoni not chorizo with a whole red onion and some rocket garnish. He enjoyed his steak and my son enjoyed his pasta. But the biggest disappointment of all was the desert my sons chocolate fudge cake was over microwaved which made it like lava and made the cake like rubber and my salted Carmel cheesecake was just so salty i was unable to eat it. They should of used some of that salt to season the rest of the food. The staff was friendly there was one young girl in particular who was so nice and helpful and had all the time in the world for our son but they were all very disorganized and there was no communication between them.

Thank MichelleM7330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PondoM, Manager at Ponderosa Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Michelle, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience at the Ponderosa last night, but are happy to hear that your husband and son both enjoyed their meals. Our garlic bread is served with chorizo not pepperoni. We do not season the chicken as it is individual preference how customers prefer their food. We have investigated the issues regarding your sons desert being overcooked and sincerely apologise, if you had advised one of our staff we would have happily replaced it and the cheesecake for you at the time. Our staff work very hard in a very busy restaurant and always try to ensure that our customers receive first class service. We would like to discuss this further with you if you could call on 028 77741987.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

We were dropped off for supper (we eat after 8 at home and hadn't considered places in Dungiven, not exactly a tourist town, would be mostly closed by then) and enjoyed a delicious meal in a quiet nook of the restaurant. The owner herself gave us a lift back to our place! We really appreciate the service and attention, in addition to the hearty food.

Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

So much better on the inside than the outside suggests. Good choice of food for the family, The food was well prepared and quick. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location. Just sorry I haven't dropped in sooner given how often I have passed it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ponderosa Bar also viewed

Dungiven, County Londonderry
Swatragh, County Londonderry
Maghera, County Londonderry
Dungiven, County Londonderry
Dungiven, County Londonderry
Draperstown, Magherafelt

Been to Ponderosa Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing