We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It might be a hotel, but its not for tourists”
Review of Ballygally Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ballygally Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed at the Ballygally Castle as a short break from a business trip to Northern Ireland. It was a good choice in terms of location with many beautiful glens to explore in Antrim, however, the general atmosphere was that the hotel exists for the benefit of locals (weddings etc., perhaps the occasional relative from overseas, and not for tourists).

It was more or less impossible to get a reservation to eat dinner at the restaurant (although the fish and chips, once obtained, were excellent), and the sense of being unwelcomed was compounded when, turned away from the Ballygally restuarant we walked to the local pub and were told that we were 5 minutes too late to order food (no exceptions).

The staff at reception also contributed to creating the sense that we were "guests" only in the most commercial sense of the term. Overall, the impression was that no request was too much to ask.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pushkarini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,238 - 1,242 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Used to be regular visitor, returned with high hopes!

They say don't revisit., alas it was true.

Food only, did not stay

Evening meal food at best adequate, what few waiting staff there were rushed of their feet,

Family in area, all said why go there? They were right..

Had planned more than one meal there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A week-end visit to this historic hotel in a great setting. The service was friendly rather than excellent - no offer of bags to room, the restaurant forgot about us towards the end of the meal etc. The management simply does not drive for the high standards that a hotel of this quality should seek to achieve.

The room had a sea view which was a real plus. The king size bed was too large for the space available which meant there was limited seating space. The bed had some type of fleecy mattress topper which we both found made us feel too warm in bed.It was also impossible to dry hair and look in a mirror. The bathroom was OK but the shower over the fairly narrow bath was relatively poor and bathing was impeded by the clinging plastic curtain.

The restaurant did not have Irish Stew two nights in a row in spite of the waitress affirming its availability on the second night. and the food served was acceptable if unexciting. The waitress was excellent at helping my wife choose food without dairy because of her lactose intolerance. Breakfast other than the Ulster Fry was uninspiring with limited (2) cereals although also porridge. Yogurt, fruit and cold ham and cheese were all of the most basic types.

In conclusion we had an enjoyable week-end but overall the offering is average rather than excellent.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cregyhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Booked for my daughters wedding and also a short break. The staff couldn't do enough for us, the food was excellent and the accommodation very comfortable. I have booked again.
Johnboy No8

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnboyNo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

we stayed 1 night bed and breakfast in a wheelchair accessiable room on saturday 11/02/2012 for valentines first off all the room had 2 single beds as we are a couple we complained so they zipped the beds together. And that was only after my husband complained, as my husband is in a wheelchair only 1 half of the room was within his reach at the bottom of the bed was a large table and chair and the tea and coffee were at the other end of the room my husband couldnt get passed to make a cup of tea.Had he been on his own he would have had to do without. We booked a meal food was nice but werent impressed about the service of staff very slow and it wasnt overly busy. You think with it being a valentines weekend they would have put on some kind of entertaiment so after dinner we were back in our rooms for 9 oclcok. The worst was when my wife went to bed in a heavy jumper as the heating wasnt on in the rooms and she was freezing . IT was our 1st time there and our last, it just ruined wot was suppose to be a romantic night away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joetoddBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygally
31.3 km away
Galgorm Resort & Spa
Galgorm Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Ballymena
3,328 reviews
28.9 km away
Tullyglass House Hotel
Tullyglass House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ballymena
954 reviews
27.8 km away
Culloden Estate & Spa
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Hilton Belfast Templepatrick Golf & Country Club
13.2 km away
Londonderry Arms Hotel
Londonderry Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnlough
554 reviews
6.9 km away
Curran Court Hotel
Curran Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larne
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygally Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygally Castle

Address: 274 Coast Road, Ballygally BT40 2QZ, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballygally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygally
Price Range: $176 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygally Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the scenic Antrim coast only 26 miles from Belfast and close to Larne, the Ballygally Castle faces the sandy beaches of Ballygally Bay. The Castle dates back to 1625 and is the only 17th Century building still used as a residence in Northern Ireland today. This enchanting hotel is full of character and charm. The many original castle features and antique furnishings also give the hotel a unique welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ballygally Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygally Castle Hotel Ballygally
Castle Hotel Ballygally
Ballygally Castle Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing