We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening”
Review of The Priory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Although we live near the Priory hotel we decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary here for dinner. What a good choice this turned out to be. We found the staff very friendly without being intrusive. The quality of the food was excellent together with a great wine list. If you want something special is the place to come.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDMWareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 345 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had celebrated my husband's 50th birthday in August last year with lunch on the terrace overlooking the river and it was delightful. When we asked our son what he would like to do to mark his 16th birthday he asked to go to the Priory for dinner! No wild parties for him! We visited last Saturday and I am delighted to say we were not disappointed. Right from the start we received a warm and friendly welcome, not at all stuffy and pompous as some might expect. We were slightly early as the train times did not quite fit in (nobody wanted to drive from Poole as we enjoy our wine), but this was not a problem and we were shown to the very warm and inviting drawing room. Here we were served drinks and canapes whilst perusing the menu.

Our orders were taken, and at just the right interlude we were taken down to the restaurant. It is below ground level but it was beautifully lit,warm and inviting. The waiting staff seemed to have timings off to a fine art, as each course arrived with just enough gap between them. They also had a knack of not seeming to be visible (of course they were) but they popped up at just the right moment. This could be coincidence or a well honed skill. The food was beautiful and well presented. I have no idea what they do to their meat but the pork,duck and venison chosen by my family just melted in the mouth. Look on the Priory Hotel website for a sample menu it will make your mouth water. The restaurant was full and there was a really nice buzz about the place without you actually being able to hear what was being said on the next table.

We took coffees, a mint infusion, petit fours and liquers in the drawing room and all in all had a thoroughly enjoyable evening. The three courses with canapes,coffee and petit fours cost £44.50 per head and we had Chilean Merlot at a very reasonable £22.00 per bottle.

We all had a lovely experience and intend to come up with a very good excuse to visit in the summer. Well done Priory and thank you for making our evening such a success.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DorsetDumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Ate with friends here on the 18th Feb 2012, despite living in Dorset it was our first time here ! Having now been really wish we had been earlier, setting, food and staff excellent. We started with drinks in the bar and then ate in the cellar which is a really nice setting, food was cooked to perfection and the staff attentive. I was impressed with the sommelier who when I gave the wine number just knew what it was, he has been there 30 years so maybe would be very friendly as with his colleagues. Would most certainly advise to give it a go and we will certainly return

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveandLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Spent a glorious lunch with my aunt at the `The Priory Hotel` and how wonderful it was !. Fantastic food, fantastic service, gorgeous surroundings in the most adorable setting ( a table overlooking the gardens and river) - Everythingyou would want, it truly was perfect!! 55.00 was the approx cost of lunch for the two of us with coffee (no drinks), and I understand that it is approx 45.00 per head for a three course dinner in the evening. If money is no object, dont hesitate to eat here, and if you are on a budget, put away a few pennies and remember this one for a special occasion as it will be definately worth it

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Kezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Priory in late January on a "buy 2 nights and get the 3rd free" package, this deal included breakfast and dinner.
On arrival we were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a mini suite on the first floor of the hotel. The room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable, and the bathroom was sinply magnifcent - a huge copper bath dominating the centre of the room, and terrific showers (water comes at you from multiple jets) in a wet room area. Both rooms had views over the gardens to the river.
The gardens are very much a feature of the hotel, being very extensive and running alongside the river. They were immaculately tended even at this time of the year.
The lounge is a lovely room, with log fire burning throughout the day and evening. Breakfast (cooked to order and very good) is taken in the garden room - which as the name suggests - is on the ground floor overlooking the terrace and garden. Apparantly in the summer breakfast, tea etc can be taken on the terrace. Dinner (and Sunday lunch) is served in the main restaurant which is below ground level. It is a lovely room, and in winter very cosy. However there is practically no natural light, so might seem a bit gloomy in the summer months. The food however was delicious, a large choice of starters and mains, although some attracted a surcharge. The menu seems to evolve rather than change completely, during our stay, one or two items within each category changed each day. Very fussy eaters might find this a tad restricting if staying for more than a couple of nights, but it didn;t worry us at all.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
There are loads of places to visit nearby, and it is possible to walk along the bank of the river towards Poole harbour (very pretty, but too muddy during our stay)
The priory is certainly not cheap, but for a lovely break it is first class.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wareham
6.3 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
975 reviews
1.6 km away
Springfield Country Hotel
0.4 km away
The Anglebury House
The Anglebury House
#3 of 3 in Wareham
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
478 reviews
8.9 km away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,226 reviews
11.3 km away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Address: Church Green, Wareham BH20 4ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Wareham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wareham
Price Range: $379 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Priory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Priory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Priory Hotel Wareham
The Priory Hotel Wareham, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing