We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, welcoming, thoughtful and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
View of cottage from garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of cottage from garden
Family Room sitting area Family Room Kitchen/Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
View of cottage from garden
Family Room sitting area
Family Room Kitchen/Dining area
Kitchen
Bed 1 (2)
Bed 1 En-suite shower room
Bed 2 En-suite shower room
Bathroom with Spa Bath
View to Garden from patio
Inner hall
View to North West
View to North East
Aquatics Pond
Dexter
View North
View to South
Twin Bedroom 1
Twin Bedroom 1A
Kitchen Dining
Bed 1 Evening
Bed 1 Day
Sitting Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sturminster Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ali R
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, welcoming, thoughtful and relaxing”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the stables holiday cottage. Maryanne was so welcoming and thoughtful. Toys were available for the children to play with and a garden for private use. The cottage was beautiful and spotless and very well equipped. all the little touches helped to make it very special and we rally enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felling welcome and comfortable
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill T
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at The Stables”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Lovely welcome from Maryanne who showed us around The Stables where there were fresh flowers on the table, eggs from her chickens, homemade rock buns and cookies, milk, tea, coffee and sugar and even spare towels for use on the dogs should we need to use them. Have to say this is the best equipped property we have ever stayed in and literally had everything you would ever need to use and more. Spotlessly clean with a lovely rear garden with wonderful variety of bird life to watch and listen to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and the accommodation
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissie1...
Near Heathrow
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Immaculate, Welcoming and Comfortable”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, mother, me and our dog stayed for a week over Christmas. We had a little trouble finding the farm because, the name was on the 5 bar gate set back from the road so, after travelling up and down the road a number of times we called the owners. Maryanne was standing at the entrance as we approached making it much easier for us to know where to turn.

Maryanne is a very welcoming lady who is willing to go that extra mile just to ensure you are comfortable and have everything you require. The property was decorated in a Christmas theme and the tree in the garden was also decorated, it look absolutely stunning when the lights came on at night.

There were homemade mince pies and rock cakes (delicious!) as well as a large box of biscuits plus milk, teabags eggs (you could tell the difference yummy!) etc.

The cottage itself was immaculate and everything was very good quality (none of that cheap rubbish you find in many rental properties), some better than we have in our own home. Pretty much everything you could want at the start of your holiday was provided, ranging from liquid soap in all three bathrooms to kitchen rolls, washing tabs, dishwasher tabs, toilet rolls, tissues - the list goes on.

There was a mat for the dog bowls, poo bags, towels to dry your dog etc. We didn't need to use any of these items but, how thoughtful to ensure the dogs needs were also covered.

Unfortunately the fields were very wet, this meant we had to venture further afield for some long dog walks but, many places are within easy reach by car. We had a fabulous Xmas day on Weymouth beach, it was packed with excited dogs and their owners.

We had a lovely relaxing time at this cottage and could find absolutely nothing to complain about.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I can think of many words to describe this gem of a cottage -perfect covers just about everything. I spent a week here with my husband and son and we had a great time. I felt as though I was living in a spotless home not the often mis matched properties one often sees.I adored the garden -a little bit of heaven -just sorry the weather wasn't sunny enough to take full advantage. Maryanne the owner who provided us with at least two dozen eggs, fresh rock buns and an enormous bunch of flowers - our welcome pack was so friendly and hospitable. The kitchen was a joy, as was everything. Did I find anything lacking -no. Many Thanks and best wishes to the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The roads and so many high hedges -felt as though I missed Dorset.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jghaig
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty much perfect”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Their webpage says that you only need to bring food and yourselves and that is 100% correct. Everything is provided and then some.
A beautifully presented cottage in fact I would have said it was all brand new it was so immaculate.
My six year old Daughter loved her room and the Spa bath and has decide that she wants to live there now.
Maryanne, the owner, couldn't do enough and even bought extra books for my Daughter.
There were cakes, fresh flowers and eggs when we arrived. Ample bedding, toys, DVD's, videos, leaflets, I could go on....
Really 5 star.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great property for a young child
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing