We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach
Price range: USD 3 - USD 28
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Taste Café at Chesil Beach is open seven days per week 10am - 5pm (4pm in winter months) Monday to Sunday. We serve great barista made coffee, loose leaf teas, hot chocolate, smoothies & milk shakes. Our menu offers locally/regionally sourced food, full English breakfasts, lunch from 11.30am offering a varied menu of meat, vegetarian, fresh local fish & Portland crab, we also have a blackboard of daily specials, homemade soup, freshly cut sandwiches, baguettes & salads. We offer a large selection of our own home-made cakes, tray bakes & afternoon tea with fruited scones, Dorset jam & West Country clotted cream, delicious homemade desserts and always with the warmest of welcomes.
Reviewed 10 May 2021 via mobile

Great finish to a great camping weekend. Lovely coffee and a delicious Amaretti brownie ! Amazing location next to Chesil Beach !

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank julesy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure30973244467, General Manager at Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Julesy,

So pleased that you had a great finish to your camping trip at Taste Café, and the food & drink was delicious. Thanks for the review and your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

Very slow service and not particularly friendly. Bear in mind that on top of prices, you're likely having to pay for parking, there are other places that might be better.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Gypsy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure30973244467, General Manager at Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Gypsy,

Thank you for your recent visit and review, I am sorry you felt it didn't meet your expectations. Our prices are reflected in the fresh produce that we source and our team of chefs prepare all our dishes daily to order which may take a little time if particularly busy. It has been a challenging 18 months for everyone and we ask our customers to bear with us as we reopen up again. I have messaged you direct to try and discuss your visit further and I hope to hear from you. The car park charges are controlled and collected for and by the local authority and we unfortunately have no say or control in this, thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021

After a walk on Chesil Beach, we were looking for somewhere to have lunch. As we were parked next to it, we tried the Taste Cafe, which turned out to have superb food, great, helpful service and a sheltered spot to eat your lunch outside. One of the best cafes we visited during our stay

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank D3897ITandrewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure30973244467, General Manager at Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tandrewk,

I'm so pleased to see you thought us one of the best cafés during your stay in the area! I hope you will visit again and thanks for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2021 via mobile

Great food, nice location. Originally went somewhere else which was late opening then not doing food, this place was on the way back into Weymouth so we stopped on the off chance they were open and doing food. Luckily they were. Nice location on Chesil Beach, plenty of parking. Even on the limited menu they were doing there were options for everybody including vegans. The sausage and bacon sandwiches were 5 star with bread that was delicious from a bakery in Bridport, coffee was ok, OJ really good, excellent helpful, friendly staff. Yes a bit more expensive than normal but given the location and the exceptional quality of the food that’s totally understandable and on a par with other places that offer a similar product.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Ladyfirestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure30973244467, General Manager at Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ladyfirestar,

Thank you for your visit and lovely review, glad you liked our vegan options too! Hope you'll visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020 via mobile

Food was absolutely gorgeous!
Staff friendly but seemed rushed as it was busy!
Have done well putting in Covid safety measures
Lots of options for GF and VG
Right next to the beach so well situated
Good came out very fast :)

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank harmonye243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure30973244467, General Manager at Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Daer Harmonye,

Thanks for your visit and great review, we have worked hard through Covid restrictions to provide a safe environment for our customers and team and it's good to be recognised for this... I hope we'll welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach also viewed

Isle of Portland, Dorset
 
Isle of Portland, Dorset
 

Been to Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.