We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon snack”

Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach
Price range: USD 3 - USD 28
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Taste Café at Chesil Beach is open seven days per week 10am - 5pm (4pm in winter months) Monday to Sunday. We serve great barista made coffee, loose leaf teas, hot chocolate, smoothies & milk shakes. Our menu offers locally/regionally sourced food, full English breakfasts, lunch from 11.30am offering a varied menu of meat, vegetarian, fresh local fish & Portland crab, we also have a blackboard of daily specials, homemade soup, freshly cut sandwiches, baguettes & salads. We offer a large selection of our own home-made cakes, tray bakes & afternoon tea with fruited scones, Dorset jam & West Country clotted cream, delicious homemade desserts and always with the warmest of welcomes.
Reviewed 5 September 2015 via mobile

We had the ploughmans and it was delicious. The cheese was tasty as was the chutney so was the bread. Nice saad and pickled onions and ham.

After wards we had a really nice coffee. Scone and jam with clotted cream also a slice of chocolate mocha cake delicious all the way.

It was busy but food was served fresh and quickly.

Well worth the visit thank you it made our last day,s holiday special.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank dazmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMM5768, Owner at Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

We are lucky to have great produce on our doorstep, The Cheddar is from Forde farm, just up the road, and the chutney is a Dorset real ale chutney, the bread comes from Sgt Buns bakery just up the road, we make the Scones and all the cakes ourselves, and the jam we use is from another local producer, A Jar Of

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 407 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

I had brunch at this cafe today and the coffee was outstanding. The full english was good however it was oily as if it had all been done in a deep fryer rather than on a grill. Most would be happy with it. The service was outstanding.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMM5768, Owner at Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

A really useful review, as we can look at the issue you have brought up, I can assure you that we only cook the Hash browns in the fryer, and its not a comment we have had before, We will make sure that we address this issue to ensure it is not repeated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

What a gem this cafe is! Service was great. It was busy and noisy but they got everything spot on and went out of their way to provide two grumpy men with the exact bacon and egg sandwich that they were looking for (even though it wasn't in the menu). They were also fab with the kids meals and attention. The cafe has several viewing screens of cameras in the lagoon itself which show off the Sea bass conservation programme off in all its glory and also has a shop and project station incorporated. Well worth a visit with the kids :-) plenty of information about what to do in the area too

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank 4Dunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMM5768, Owner at Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

I couldn't ask for a better review, we love turning grumpy old men into happy old men, Im glad you enjoyed our cafe and the centre, we feel we are lucky to be there

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile

Good service and the food is amazingly delicious OUTSTANDING good value for money even they have a good selection for kids:)

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank CarolDavies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMM5768, Owner at Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for your review, its exactly what we want to see and hear

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Inspired kids meals & great ice cream. Main dishes a bit fancy and not that good. Service good. Smart & bright.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsMaryLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMM5768, Owner at Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2015

Thank you for your review, we think that all the menu is inspired, and cooked to a very high standard, it appears that you were disappointed with a dish, but without more details I cannot comment on it, but Im glad your children enjoyed their meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach also viewed

Isle of Portland, Dorset
 
Isle of Portland, Dorset
 

Been to Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.