We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly magical place!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kath P
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Truly magical place!”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My family and I have just returned from a weeks stay in the quaint and quirky Stopes cottage. When we arrived after a 6 hour journey we were greeted by Les who showed us round the property and filled us in on the history of the lighthouse.

The cottage was incredibly clean and very well maintained. It had everything we needed including the little things that sometimes get forgotten by self catering owners...from dish cloths, salt and pepper, tea bags and milk (for that long awaited cuppa!) to blankets for those cold nights (not that we needed them!).

The views were beautiful, i was able to sit in the kitchen with my morning cuppa and watch the boats go by! Bliss!

The views from the lighthouse were absolutely stunning. We loved it up there.

We can't wait to return. Thanks Fran and Les for a memorable holiday and for being wonderful hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnmcdon...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we followed the directions given which were perfect...straight to the front door. Although we arrived slightly early our host fran kindly let us unpack which was great after a 9 hour drive...as we unpacked les, frans husband knocked and showed us around...both les and fran were really nice and helpful. The property was just what you would expect from a lighthouse keepers cottage and had everything you needed from a large swimming pool to a b.b.q. our 7 night stay was brilliant and would not hesitate to reccommend this property from very good hosts to absolutly 360° sea views from the lighthouse tower....brilliant holiday...thankyou les and fran.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrmarkk
South East England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This superb private lighthouse with adjoining cottage is a hidden gem. Unbeatable Views!!”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I must say the only existing review on Tripadvisor nearly put me off visiting Stopes Cottage.

What a mistake that would have been!! That location, in a Lighthouse.. we had to give it a go.

We are delighted that we did. This is simply a fantastic location. If you want 360 degree stunning views of the Dorset Coast and Portland Bill this is unbeatable.

The cottage has lovely large rooms and everything you could need. It was impeccably clean and had everything you could want; really good heating (just hit the Advance button in the kitchen if you want a boost); large TV with Blu-ray; separate kitchen TV, Wi-Fi, large bath with shower; 2nd WC, washing machine, iron and as with the Lighthouse stunning views out to sea from most rooms. The beds were very comfortable.

There is a decent sized garden with bbq, seating and even an outdoor pool which looked great for when the British summer arrives.

Our hosts Les and Fran were very welcoming; available nearby if needed (they weren’t) after our initial welcome. Many of Fran’s paintings hung around the cottage (available to buy).

A 2nd rental property on the grounds (Branscombe Lodge) also has access to the Lighthouse (via separate entrance), but there is more than enough room at the top of the Lighthouse for all; however we were the only ones up there when we stayed.
The top of the lighthouse is the perfect location to enjoy a drink whilst taking in the views during the day; at sunset (we didn't make sunrise!) or even star gazing. There is a door so you can step outside for even better views (possibly best on a calm day; you are atop a lighthouse after all!)

Portland Bill is far less developed that other local Dorset towns (in a good way), but there are still enough restaurants, pubs, and amenities in the area to cater for most needs. Weymouth is a 10 minute drive. A large new Tesco 4 minutes away (and they deliver).
If you want a home from home with what have to be the best views in the area then I highly recommend Stopes Cottage. We will be back!!

Little pointers to note- Stairs for the final climb to the Lighthouse are very steep; but very solid with excellent hand holds. Electricity is by £1 coin meter; but don’t be put off; you will get change out of £1 per day. Lastly the select number of local eateries do get busy; so book a table!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DR N
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Be aware of the weather trends before booking. Avoid winter by all means”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The property was too cold and the heat was only rationed by the owners. They had the heating on and off as it suited them.

The owners had painted the property interior wood work with solvent based paint and had not ventilated the rooms. As a consequence we kept inhaling the chemicals to the point that one of us experienced burning sensation in the chest. We could not open the windows to ventilate as the gales were in the region of 80 miles per hour.

The owners were aware of the weather warnings but were more interested in maintaining their booking.

We had to leave earlier because of the cold, intrusive winds hammering against the windows all night long, extreme noise and the chemical inhalation.

We feel very disappointed in the fact that the property owners showed such inflexibility and imposed such conditions to innocent holidays makers like us.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 100
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing