We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome cottage, fabulous holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pitt Hayes Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Outside Pitt Hayes Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SJS_05_20...
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome cottage, fabulous holiday”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We recently stayed here as a large family to celebrate my mother in laws 80th birthday who was born and raised in Portland. It was important for me to find suitable accommodation for the whole family to stay (8 adults, 2 children) to make her birthday as special as possible and we were overwhelmed by how perfect this cottage was for all of us. Modern yet homely, clean, comfortable and extremely well equipped along with the awesome views across Chesil beach and beyond. It was situated within close proximity of Portland Heights and we had some wonderful walks including to Portland Bill and back on each side of the Isle. The owners were fabulous and we give huge thanks for their kind hospitality. We would certainly highly recommend this cottage and hope to return in the future. This was a brilliant holiday which created some wonderful memories for all of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gairney
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house with everything including the view”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A great house that provided everything we needed for the week long stay. Nice to wake up and enjoy the view across Chesil Beach. Definitely fitter after walking up the hill a few times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The narrow road leading to the house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally T
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed here with our two sons, daughter in law and two Grandsons, very spacious and well equipped, the views from the conservatory were amazing and you could see for miles. The children really enjoyed Fancy's farm within walking distance and they loved feeding the animals.
The bus service into Weymouth was very good and it saved us driving and finding somewhere to park.
Probably not suitable for someone with walking difficulties as the hills are really steep, this was not a problem for us and we would go back again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann W
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage with amazing view....”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cottage is a perfect get away from the noisy world.
The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need to make your holiday comfortable.
A small word of warning, the beds have a tendency to collapse ( at least 5 times during our stay) I did notice this had been mentioned by others visitors.
The road leading to the cottage is not immediately clear if you are new to the area and there is not much room to turn around when parking.
There was some confusion as to the use of the patio area and the BBQ which was clarified by the Red Home office.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, the view and the layout of the cottage
Liked least: The beds and the accessibility
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerenaRLe...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievably brilliant!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Pitt Hayes Cottage for a week and couldn't fault it. The property is large and we felt spoilt for room. There are 2x twin bedrooms downstairs, a large open plan kitchen, a smaller living area and conservatory with breath taking views over Fortuneswell and Chesil Beach. There is also a utility room and shower room downstairs. Upstairs is a further twin room, large family bathroom and double bedroom. I have to stay that we have never stayed somewhere so fully equipped. We normally have a tendancy to take essentials: sharp knife, tin opener and loo roll etc just in case as some places aren't brilliantly equipped. We needn't have bothered....neverending utensils, bowls and cookware, a dishwasher and a fab range oven greeted us. Even more impressed were we with the washing machine and dryer in the utility room complete with laundry liquid/fabric conditioner - utter bonus with 3x grubby boys! It was great to have a full size fridge/freezer to store food as well, rather than your typical self-catering tiny fridge ice-box. Everything has been thought of. The property was comfy, clean and tidy on arrival and all cookware/ linen was spotless (I add that copious towels were also supplied for our stay). To re-cover a couple of previous review points the house is set on a steep hillside (hence the amazing views) so yes, there are 10-12 steps up to the property and also steep paths nearby (down to Fortuneswell or up to the hilltop summit) but nothing that we and our 3 boys of 5, 7 and 9 couldn't easily handle. The water pressure IS dodgy especially when taps/ showers are run at the same time BUT this is the same across Portland and the front garden IS shared (as the owners are next door) but the grassed area is outside the rented section and the other shared piece is a decked area so you can hang your washing or have a BBQ. Our boys merrily played away and no-one disturbed them. If anything when we did bump into the owners it resulted in a friendly chat! The owners are a really lovely couple and the neighbours the other side equally great and we got lots of info on where to visit (for free!) from both....we were extremely grateful. I also add that when we mentioned about a dim bulb in the hall (causing a fretful 5yr old overnight) the owners jumped in the car and went out to replace it immediately despite our 'protests' it could wait. They couldn't do enough. All in all we had a brilliant break and were sad to have to come home to surburbia - we would most definitely return and would highly recommend this property for anyone else looking to book. Top marks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house generally and views
Liked least: The queues on the motorway to get there!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 173
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing