We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rosa Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with  woodburning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Living room with  woodburning stove
Portland Jurassic coast
Enter a caption for your photo
the famous Portland Bill
Portland Bill
Chesil Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scott Z
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Me and my family (wife, 3 children and dog) absolutely loved this place, the cottage was perfect and the location is amazing. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DrPeterDR...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage but parking is a problem”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Rosa Cottage is a lovely property in a fairly quiet residential street. Nicely furnished, high ceilings and plenty of space inside. the outside area is small, and surrounded by other properties, but probably nice during the summer. A bathroom blind, bath mat (the bath is dangerously slippery for showering without this - I fell over twice) and blind in the dining room are necessary additions. The bed in the front room seems to rest (unevenly) on half a divan unit. The location is excellent for exploring Portland, Weymouth and much of the Dorset Coast.

However, parking, (which is on the street), was hopeless. We managed to park outside during the middle of the afternoon to unload, but at all other times we ended up driving around the one way system at least twice, often three times just to find a space within reasonable walking distance. There are two public car parks at the top of the road, but these were full of residents cars as well most of the time. Not the property owners fault, but coming back after an evening meal and spending 20 minutes looking for somewhere to park is not acceptable - especially in such a hilly location making parking any distance away very difficult for accessibility.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2016
Hi Peter

Thank you for giving a review, and sorry this cottage did not meet your standards. To answer a few of your comments:
Bathroom does not need a blind, it's frosted glass. The dining room is not overlooked, it's a feature window and it would be a shame to cover it with a blind.
Most people can manage a shower without a slip-mat, even 5* hotels do not use these ugly things anymore.
Parking can be an issue in high season like Easter, but there is no need to do the one-way system as all roads here are free parking on roads, you are never more than max 5 min walk away from cottage parking in any of them. I live just 4 min walk away, so I do know. Regards Karin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissyK68
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday stay”
Reviewed 4 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Love the character of Rosa cottage, & would definitely stay again & recommend to friends with dogs. & although not very cold out, we wanted to light the log burner which was a delight. Our two dogs loved it too. Had so many lovely walks. Local beach beautiful, but stony, pebbles are amazing! Although locally hilly, there are plenty of places a short car journey away that are more manageable. Weymouth is a must, beautiful sandy beach. Suitable for everyone. Dogs were In the sea everyday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopoli...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 30 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Absolutly fantastic cottage. The owner was very accommodating and helped with all my queries. I suffer with sever anxiety and she put my mind at rest on the little things. The accommodation was beautiful and kitted out a treat!! My partner was amazed with the log burner and we had some lovely fires. Cottage provided a great base to explore Portland. I must add that I would take your trainers with you as the property is on a steep hill but it's good exercise!! Car parking is on the road and we had no problems at all! Portland is great with lots to see and do and the cottage was in a great location. I feel relaxed and really enjoyed myself and the owner made the processes seamless. A definite must if staying in Portland, so much so we will definitely return this time next year to make full use of the log burner!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay Abby, I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to Portland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing