We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rosa Cottage is lovely, very clean, well...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rosa Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with  woodburning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
34 reviews
Living room with  woodburning stove
Portland Jurassic coast
Enter a caption for your photo
the famous Portland Bill
Portland Bill
Chesil Beach
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Isle of Portland, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PaulBarre...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in lively neighbourhood”
Reviewed 26 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The cottage was clean, well equipped and comfortable with all mod cons. We were able to make good use of the kitchen which had all we needed to prepare meals. Ample information about the area was available and the cottage was close to amenities.

Fourtuneswell is a beautiful area - magnificent beach and views only a few minutes walk away from Rosa Cottage.

One of the downsides was a lack of a blind for a large bathroom window, making privacy extremely difficult.

Although entirely outside of the owner's control the vicinity was noisy at times. The adjoining neighbours tended to leave their barking dog outside until late at night. Another nearby property also decided to host a very raucous barbeque until the early hours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Noisy at night
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to review my cottage. It is always useful to get feedback from guests. I am glad you enjoyed the cottage, but I feel I must point out that the bathroom has frosted windows, so it is totally private. However, as other guest might also feel the need for an additional blind, I have now fitted one.

I would also like to point out that none of the neighbours have a dog - so any barking noise must have come from one of the nearby holiday cottages. It is usually a very quiet street but there were a lot of extra visitors during August and the Olympics as expected.

Regards
Karin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandLuxor
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rosa Cottage is lovely, very clean, well furnished and artistically decorated. We would like to go back and stay there”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

The 3 of us had a very enjoyable holiday at the Rosa Cottage in April 2012. The weather wasn’t very good all the times while we were there, with some strong gales and rain. Nevertheless we went out every day for walks following the coastal paths by Chesil Beach, drove to Portland Bill and at the lighthouse climbed all the way up those spiral and steep stairs, to savour the splendid panoramic view at the top. We had pints of ale and dinners at the Cove House Inn, a public house with a nice atmosphere, in an amazing location, a few metres away from the sea surf and rollers !!

Rosa Cottage is lovely, very clean, well furnished and artistically decorated. We would like to go back and stay there again.
Thank you and well done Karin!

Mogg, Kim & Gerald (Siamese)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really close to Chesil Beach and Cliff Walks
Liked least: No sea view
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great value for money
Liked least: Bed was a bit uncomfortable.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaveRManc...
Manchester
2 reviews
“Fantastic, stylish cottage.”
Reviewed 30 December 2011 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed here for over a month and I only have good things to say about both the cottage and Karin who looked after us during our stay. The cottage itself gave us a very pleasant supprise as we walked through the door as it is much bigger than it appears from the road and is quite grand inside. The decoration is stylish and it was very clean, there was every thing there that we needed for us and our two year old. We made good use of the wood burning stove in the evenings even though the rooms were kept warm by the c/heating.The kitchen is modern and well appointed, which was important for us as the baby kept us pretty much house bound in the evenings.
Karin is LOVELY! and made us feel more like we were borrowing the cottage from an old friend than renting it. Portland is querky but the local shops are good and every one was friendly. Very highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large comfortable rooms and great sense of space inside.
Liked least: That we didn't have the cottage for longer...
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing