We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint location and very cozy for an Autumn visit!”
other travellers have booked this property
Proximity to the pub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Proximity to the pub
Sitting room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
62 reviews
Proximity to the pub
Sitting room
Sitting Room
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2
Dining room / Reading room
Reading room through to Conservatory
The Conservatory
Rear view of the cottage
The terrace
View of Corfe Castle from the terrace
Under the grapevines
Herb garden
Ground floor plan
Upstairs floor plan
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
The view whilst washing up
The view whilst washing up
The view whilst washing up
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Hong-Hong...
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quaint location and very cozy for an Autumn visit!”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at The Old Reading Room with my parents for a visit to Dorset in November 2016. Kingston is a bit out there but well worth it and still very accessible if you have a car. The bus also makes an hourly pick up/drop off just across the road, which was convenient. The cottage is extremely cozy and the importance of having a wood burning fireplace for the cold and damp November evenings cannot be overstated! That being said, it could be pretty chilly in the upstairs area, even with the fire going. Low ceilings downstairs add to the Old World charm, but watch your head! Overall we had a great experience and I would recommend Kingston and The Old Reading Room to anybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alessia h
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd visit to Reading Room..... loved it... again”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is our 2nd visit to the reading room and we will keep returning.

We love the area and what there is to offer.

The house is just gorgeous and the garden is amazing.

This trip always exceeds out expectations.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El d
1 review
“Gorgeous cottage and garden with stunning view”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved our stay at The Old Reading Room which surpassed all of our expectations. The cottage is beautifully decorated and very well equipped and the toys and books that the owner has provided kept our kids happy and busy for hours. The views of Corfe Castle are enchanting as is the garden which is well enclosed and established. We had some fantastic trips out to the beach at Studland (The Pig pub is good) on the steam train to Swanage and clambering round the castle but the cottage was a lovely base and all were happy to return to it at the end of the day. Looking forward to our next visit already.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views both inside and out
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhoda W
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding cottage with a service to match”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Staying in The Old Reading Room cottage was like home from home. The location was beautiful, a picture postcard setting. From the garden to the bedroom everything was as you would expect from a countryside cottage, comfortable and cosy. We had a fantastic stay, and the owner was so helpful from start to finish. I would highly recommend staying at this cottage. Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMB1103
York
1 review
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed for two nights last summer and had a super time. The cottage was incredible and a lot bigger than expected.

Our dogs loved it too!

Everything surpassed expectation! The garden was just perfect!

One tiny comment was the master bedroom - the bed was a bit softer than we would like (personal taste)...

We hope to return soon

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing