We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cottage in great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wissett Cottage

Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Wissett Cottage - Character features abound inside and out with chocolate box charm.
Living room - alternative view.
Master bedroom. Comfortable king-sized bed with good quality bed linen provided.
The dining room - another corner in which to relax
The sunny, south-facing aspect to the cottage edged with country garden plants and flowers.
Cosy nights in front of the wood burner. Some logs for your first fire are provided.
Relax in the pretty courtyard garden.
Cottage front - showing the thatched 'wing' extending to the rear.
The garage and drive provide parking for 2 cars
View over Worbarrow Tout from Flowers Barrow on the SW Coastal path - stunning walking country!
There's always a peaceful spot to be found on one of the area's fine, sandy beaches.
Climbing out of the village , the castle is a focal point in the scenery for miles around.
Beautiful views from Corfe Common.
A lovely play park to help entertain our younger guests is to be found within 1 minute's walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
andrewh12...
Berks
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage in great location”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Communication with the property owner pre and post visit was excellent.
All furnishings were comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped.
It was useful to have a parking space with the rental.
The cottage is well located for local amenities and attractions and is a good base for day trips to a variety of places including the Blue Pool, Poole, Swanage, Lyme Regis, Studland Bay etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Spett2014
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning cottage”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We have just had another week at Wissett Cottage, our 5th year in a row and we have already been in touch with the owner about our 6th visit. This cottage has everything you need for a very comfortable stay, every eventuality catered for. We find the county of Dorset a very relaxing area which can accommodate all interests and ages and coming back to Wissett Cottage after a day of exploring is a pleasure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
700Margot
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing, beautiful cottage - shame about the road!”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016

This really is a super, comfortable and clean cottage and one of the best we have ever stayed in and there have been many over the years. The owner Kate was a pleasure to deal with and the welcome bottle of wine was a very nice touch - thank you! This really is one of the best equipped holiday cottages we have stayed in and it had a lovely cosy feel with good quality crockery/glassware/bedding etc. Everything oozed quality and the log burner was so lovely to sit by of an evening. Corfe Castle itself is a great base from which to explore the surrounding area. Only downside for us was the road outside - oh my!! So, so busy and noisy and the cottage (which is located facing the busy road with no frontage) shakes with the vibration from the aggregate/quarry lorries that seem to pass by regularly from about 4am onwards. Such a shame but the traffic was mad when we stayed and even took the edge off walking around the village with young children in tow, everyone seems to drive so fast! In all a super cottage which is what we are reviewing here. But sadly for us traffic noise was a huge issue even for our young boys so much so we came home a night early just to get some sleep. If you are used to road noise it won't be an issue I am sure. We hate to mention this but need to reflect how we found our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review of Wissett Cottage. We are always keen to receive feedback from our guests and strive to implement any suggestions for any improvements that are in our power. We are delighted to understand that you found the cottage to be clean, well equipped and comfortable.

We were very disappointed (and somewhat surprised) to learn, however, that you found the disturbance from the nearby road so troublesome. It is true (and clearly evident on the location maps on our adverts) that part of the cottage lies on the main road through Corfe Castle village; as such, some traffic noise is inevitable. However, as can be seen by the large number of overwhelmingly positive reviews, this does not appear to be an issue for the vast majority of our guests who frequently appreciate the convenience of the location for amenities both within the village and further afield.

Whilst the road carries a fair amount of traffic for the periods immediately either side of and throughout the working day, it subsides to a level that we would honestly describe as ‘quiet’ in the evening and throughout the night. Thus, we are surprised that your sleep should have been so interrupted, especially by a passing aggregate lorry at such an early hour as strict controls on both the permitted timings and number of their movements are in place.

Our primary concern, when welcoming guests to our cottage, is that they should be comfortable and have a wonderful holiday. Happily, for most visitors, we manage to achieve this but, as we advise any guests who have considered the cottage’s location and expressed concern over their sensitivity to ambient noise, they may be more suited to alternative accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YoAndLeig...
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection!”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Wissett Cottage (21 Dec to 28 Dec). Our Christmas Holiday could not have been better. Such a lovely surprise to find a welcome basket filled with Christmas goodies. The Christmas decorations and tree made this a special home away from home for us to enjoy. Wissett Cottage is a gem. All of the modern amenities with historical charm. The rooms are spacious, the bed in the master was very comfortable and attention to detail was terrific.  For a week long vacation it's very helpful to find a closet full of hangers that allow you to hang your clothes rather than living out of your suitcase. If you choose to cook on your holiday, as we did, the kitchen was very well appointed and had all of the items necessary to cook any meal. Any questions we might've had about the cottage and the operation of appliances etc were answered in a book provided by the owners.  Finally, having our own parking on the property was a real plus.

The cottage Is located a short 5 minute walk in to the center of the village where you'll find pubs, the village store, village bakery and the castle.  We have been to Corfe Castle / Dorset many times over the past few years and this stay was truly the most memorable. We would highly recommend Wissett Cottage and will definitely check availability the next time we find ourselves in the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing