We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful New Year Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hill View Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hill View Cottage Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Hill View Cottage
Dining Area
Fireplace - Log effect fire
Kitchenette
Rear Garden
Inglenook Fireplace
Kitchen Diner
Double Bedroom
View from Garden
View from Cottage Garden
Courtyard
Shower Room
Lounge/Dining
Rear Garden Patio
View of Corfe Castle from Kingston
Corfe Castle Station
Lulworth Cove
Lulworth Cove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Calm3
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delightful New Year Getaway”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We arrived at Hill View Cottage on a cold and foggy night and it was instantly welcoming - the inglenook fire just added to the cosy and seasonal feel of the cottage. It is quite compact but nicely arranged and has everything that one wants during a short stay. During our visit we went out and about re-visiting various coastal areas including Swanage and Kimmeridge, the latter having a lovely restaurant called Clovells, worth a look. Corfe itself is lovely and the castle was lit up all the time we were staying which made it look magnificent. All in all a really nice short break that we would be very happy to make again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jbl79
Bookham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice cottage in a great location – a few things need attention”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage is in a great location being away from the busy main road through Corfe with easy access to great walks and a 2 minute stroll to the greyhound pub, castle and shops.
Overall very good - cosy living area and bedrooms, great garden, plenty of hot water and heating as required. The garden is lovely and well kept.
I have rated as average as there are a few things that need some attention - the kitchen needs a deep clean (grease on plate racks and most pans and dishes needed washing before use). Some of the electrical sockets are not working or damaged - kitchen socket not working and fitting hanging off in bedroom 2. Also a few light bulbs needed replacing. If these issues are rectified would be very good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
It is a real shame the guests did not inform us whilst they were staying. As seen in the dozens of previous reviews, we make a real effort to ensure the cottage is the best condition. There are spare bulbs in the cottage and we have repaired the sockets within 24 hours of this review. Unfortunately not all guests leave the cottage as they found it and it is really disappointing that these guests found unclean pans. Our cleaners do a fantastic job in the short changeover time they have but they can't inspect every pot & pan. We have subsequently fitted a dishwasher that will hopefully minimise the possibilities of guests leaving dirty pans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beautiful cottage,perfectly situated for all local attractions . We all had a lovely weekend . Definitely recommend this cottage and would return without doubt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We had a lovely time. The cottage is well cared for, lovely decor very in keeping with the property. Garden is great too. Everything is there you could need. Surrounded by lovely walks, pubs and villages. The steam train to Swanage is well worth it. High recommended we will be back for a longer stay next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the character of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing