We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”

Review of Bilshay Farmhouse

Bilshay Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bilshay Farmhouse
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Bilshay Farmhouse
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Views from the kitchen window
Dining Area
Bedroom
Triple Bedroom
Bedroom
Triple Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Bilshay Farmhouse
Patio
Garden with hot tub
Views from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
liz1181
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Myself, partner and 2 small children (2.5 yrs & 13months) recently stayed at this wonderful property along with 4 other adults and 2 other small children (2.5 years & 22 months). From the moment we booked the service we received was impeccable.... With the staff in the office always available to answer questions and Ruth the house keeper ensuring the rooms were configured to our needs.
On arrival there was a wonderful hamper of local products and the farmhouse was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The house was fully equipped for all our needs, the beds were very comfortable and the garden secure so the children couldn't escape!!
The views from the garden/hot tub were some of the best I've ever seen and totally enabled us to relax and forget the stresses of everyday life for a weekend.
We are currently in the process of sorting out a date for our return.
The only things I would change (and its very specific to our needs and not a reflection on the property) is the door down to the 'boot room' it blew open a couple of times and with the children walking/crawling around this worried us if we hadn't used the top catch if someone was outside. This said I'm not sure a stairgate would fit in this doorway anyway? We took our own stairgates for the top & bottom of the stairs but there was a retractable one at the top which was great.
We also noticed a patch of unusual mushrooms growing in the garden and a wasps/hornets nest under the tree stump near the hot tub, neither of which posed a problem to us but I could imagine an inquisitive child/dog coming off worse if they went investigating it.
Overall we had a lovely stay and would recommend Bilshay to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bilshay Farmhouse. I have passed on your comments to all the staff and our maintenance manager has gone to check the mushrooms and the wasps nest, so they will be removed.

We look forward to maybe welcoming you back to Symondsbury Estate in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giddyaunt...
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

10 of us stayed in this lovely farmhouse. Perfect setting and lots of thoughtful touches which made e stay just right no matter what your age! Goody basket was just great and enjoyed by all. Would definitely recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The accommodation was great, lovely garden, many amenitii s
Liked least: The signposting to the farmhouse was quite difficult to see especially at night.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Symondsbury Estate in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardbl...
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The perfect family week”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

When you book online you're never quite sure what to expect until you drive up to the front door. Well as soon as we saw Bilshay Farm we knew we'd made a great decision. The situation, the beatiful safe secluded garden,a view to die for, the lovely spacious interior, the comfortable bedrooms and every facility a large extended family could ask for. The children loved the garden and the trampoline and the grown ups loved enjoying a glass of wine in the hot tub. And the dog loved the walks.,.straight through the back garden gate.
A farm shop1 minute away, a choice of beaches 10 minutes away and Bridport only 5 minutes away make Bilshay the perfect location. And Ruth as so helpful.
We are looking forward to planning our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Bilshay Farmhouse. We look forward to welcoming you back to Symondsbury Estate in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannahlei...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful :)”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Gorgeous spacious chocolate box cottage with the most amazing views (and hot tub to enjoy them from!). Bilshay Farmhouse is just perfect for young children - safely fenced off and a huge garden and trampoline for them to tire themselves out!! Beautifully clean and finished, perfection :)

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you Hannah for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Symondsbury and the hot tub and trampoline were popular. We hope to welcome you again to Bilshay Farmhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pkatwinch
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous views and a perfect Farmhouse for a break.”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A good quality rental with all the charm you would expect of an old Dorset Farmhouse.
Highlights included a choice of long or short walks to Symondsbury, sitting in the hot tub enjoying the view, luxurious beds and curling up in front of the log burner.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing