We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
365
147
30
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
365
147
30
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whirlpool bath west bay hotel cat traditional hotel well run hotel sunday lunch public areas excellent hotel excellent room varied menu very pleasant stay three nights specials board large room one night stay return visit full english
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018

As regular visitors to West Bay we have used this hotel quite frequently over the last fifteen or so years. We recently spent ten nights here and as usual were well looked after. The rooms are well equipped and well maintained and made up by unobtrusive staff. The only negative was the mattress felt as if it were on its last legs, but not bad enough to complain about. The food was well presented and delicious. The restaurant staff were attentive and very professional (as indeed all the staff were). The comfortable bar and lounge area were perfect for meeting friends or just dodging the weather. Thank you Paul, Joanne and the team - see you again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notimeforlosers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback it was a pleasure to have had you stay with us.

Kind regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

My wife and I have just returned form another wonderful stay at Haddon House. We stay there several times a year and have done so for some time now. We often meet other guests that do the same. There is a reason for this. Quite simply, from our experience of many hotels(including some 5 star) this is our favourite hotel bar none.
A wonderful building, full of character. Furnished to a high standard and in character with the building.
Rooms are clean and well equipped.
The staff are friendly, helpful and provide great service. The food is just wonderful.
All our stays at Haddon House have been thoroughly enjoyable.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are all so pleased to read such a positive review.
Thank you for taking the time to let us know what you thought of your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon and if we do not see you before have a lovely christmas and new year.

All the very best

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

Booked into this hotel for the second time, I do really like it, I know what I am getting and it doesn't disappoint, staff are always friendly, welcoming and professional.
The homely, personal touch shines through and the desire to keep traditional in keeping with the building.
On a personal level I do wish it would have a refresh, the famous entrance with red carpet is very tired and dirty now, needs replacing to keep up a great first impression.
Bed how I like it nice and soft but honestly needs to replaced, when there are two of you sharing you both roll into the middle, mattress does need to be changed, I did mention this at reception.
Facilities are all there, plenty of plugs, lights, safe, fan, ironing board etc.
The hotel does need updating though, doesn't have to be flat pack modern cheap stuff but let's be honest the furniture is old fashioned, it even has doilies! Like being at my nanas house. Not exactly in keeping with Tudor /Georgian style. It is renovation it would of been the height of fashion and very modern but never moved on since then
The spa bath TVs seems over the top, while having 70's/ 80,s furniture?
I think many clientele would struggle to get their leg over to get in it
I would recommend general updating but love the wallpaper and sheets, light fittings in hallway would look good in the rooms too.
Breakfast was fab, plentiful, served well and staff very professional , only would say fried bread in this day and age is odd, very bad for you ( on top of everything else) maybe toast it?
Anyway personal recommendations for someone who cares about the hotel very much and as I say very reliable hotel
Thanks very much.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank happylondoners5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for your review

It is always good to hear from a returning customer.
We have of late invested an awful lot of money in to the hotel and have only just had the hotels exterior repainted to freshen things up a little with new sing on the way also.
The hotels entrance carpet has only recently been replaced but perhaps could do with a carpet cleaner so we are going to book that in to be done as it gets a lot of use every day.
We have also just replaced some of the mattresses so this could well be from your remarks at reception so thank you as it does help when people point things out.
As I'm sure you will agree any large property always requires money to be spent and we are doing our best to keep up each year with renovations. take a look at our FB page to see some things that have recently been done.
We do hope to see you again soon

all the best
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We stayed for a golf weekend and found the management and team really supportive, there insights to the town were great and the hotel was perfect for the golf and to get into town. first class!! the rooms were nice and had a nice touch with the tv in the bath.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank prunnert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you all so much
It was pleasure to have had you stay with us and we really do hope to see you again on your next visit

kind regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We arrived at Haddon House Hotel for a long weekend and were greeted by a friendly receptionist who showed us to our delightful room and made sure we had a much needed cup of tea. The staff in this hotel are very friendly and obliging and the proprietors frequently involved. Our room was large, clean and well presented. We dined in the restaurant where the food is exceptionally good and there is a good choice. The breakfast is of similar standard. They have a first class chef at this hotel. Unfortunately the standards are let down by the use of white plastic table cloths and paper napkins. This might be the industry standard for breakfasts but we feel it is not acceptable for evening service. For this reason I could not award a five star rating.
Otherwise we were well looked after in a friendly and efficient manner in a hotel with plenty of parking in a good location

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for your feedback

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and thought so highly of our staff.
The reason for the wipeable table toppers is simply to reduce laundry costs as the slightest mark we were changing them almost every time. It was a difficult decision as we were not wanting to push our prices up further due to this hence the reason for choosing these. However we will monitor it and if we need a rethink ;after then we shall.

We do hope to see you both again soon

regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews