We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional Dorset thatch conceals 21st century...”
Duck Street Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Duck Street Cottage
Kitchen Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Duck Street Cottage
Kitchen
Sitting Room
Sitting Room & Dining Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Back of Duck Street Cottage
Courtyard Garden
Seating area in garden
The village of Symondsbury
Duck Street and Colmers Hill
Symondsbury Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mostlymo
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Dorset thatch conceals 21st century comfort and convenience”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What a delight it was to open the back door of Duck Street Cottage into a toasty warm, bright, tidy and well-equipped kitchen. As a cottage described as for two people (although there is a folding bed, travel cot and high chair so it does accommodate small children too) Duck Street is spacious with a huge bedroom housing superking bed, a sofa and even a dressing area with wardrobes. The bathroom is gorgeous with a big deep bath, separate shower cubicle and a very flattering illuminated mirror! The log burner in the inglenook works perfectly and there's a generous basket of logs along with a nice excellent supply of goodies in the welcome basket to sustain you on your first evening.
This is our third stay in Symondsbury Estate properties and not our last. We recommended to friends and they booked Duck Street right away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, log burner, bathroom, bed, welcome pack
Liked least: Exterior woodwork needs repair
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay again and we look forward to welcoming you back for a fourth visit in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalJW
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Dorset country retreat”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in Duck Street Cottage as we were getting married in the Tithe Barn on the Symondsbury estate. It was a wonderful cottage, and far more spacious than it looks from the outside, but still has that country charm you want. The Kitchen was well stocked and we had a hamper of essentials when we arrived. Wonderful views, immaculately clean bathroom and kitchen, and a lovely comfortable big king size bed. A real pleasure staying there and we plan to return to celebrate our wedding anniversary for many years to come!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
Thanks for your great review! We're so pleased you enjoyed staying at Duck Street cottage. Congratulations on getting wed, we wish you a long, happy future together and look forward to welcoming you back for your to celebrate your anniversary!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannahlei...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful :)”
Reviewed 15 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Cosy cottage downstairs, wonderfully spacious and luxurious bathroom and bedroom upstairs! Absolutely gorgeous and clean, and very close to the amenities of Symondsbury. We LOVED our stay, thank you :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review Duck Street Cottage in the village of Symondsbury, so please you enjoyed the luxury of the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon C
Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy cottage with lovely rural surroundings”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We spent a lovely few days in Duck Street Cottage, enjoying the local walks from the village and exploring the Jurassic coast nearby as well as Bridport street market. The cottage has everything you would need for a relaxing break including a massive, comfortable bed, lovely wood burner in a cosy lounge and decent sized bath and separate shower. It was a cold time of year but we were warm and snug once indoors. We tried the village pub which was friendly with a good range of menu choices and went further afield for more bistro-type food. The Symondsbury Kitchen served wonderful breakfast choices in a gorgeous setting complete with wood burner (a bit pricier than your average cafe) and if you fancy a massage, book ahead for The Shed treatments on site.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of bath and wood burner
Liked least: Kitchen pans were not very solid, or nonstick and handles were loose.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Duck Street Cottage. It sounds like you enjoyed some of the things available at Manor Yard as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy cottage for two”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We loved the cottage. It had everything we needed for two people. The bedroom was spacious and the bathroom beautifully tiled with a great shower. It rained most of the time we were there, but that didn't matter, as we dodged out between showers for great walks in the hills and on the coast. The local village pub served great food and the village shop was a treasure trove of great food and gifts. Bridport, nearby, also has good shops and restaurants. Symondsbury itself is a quiet village, off the beaten track, but near to lots of different and interesting places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely cottage
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing