We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (640)
Filter reviews
640 results
Traveller rating
341
186
62
28
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
186
62
28
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson sitewest baygravel pitchgreat sitestunning viewsbar restaurantmartins restaurantthe cliffholiday parkleisure facilitiestouring caravanstrong windsswimming poolhard standingtoilet blockreception stafffully serviced pitch
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 640 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile


After travelling three hours in solid rain we finally arrived, as stated the check in was 3pm we arrived bang on to find three or four motor homes and caravans waiting to check in. The staff on the reception we're very helpful and soon checked us in, I have to say this is the first campsite we have stayed in that doesn't allocate you a pitch, in fact we were told to find any gravel pitch and park on, as long as it didn't have anyone's stuff on it. After driving round the site we were told there were only 4 pitches left. If we wanted to put up an awning the pitches that were left would not have accommodated one easily. Obviously there had been work on the new pitches and ours had no grass at all and was just mud. Unfortunately we had a power cut on pitch everyday due to an overload of everyone using they're heaters apparently, surely if they put more pitches on the site they should use the correct cabling to cope with the load!!
On the site there is a very well used Martins bar with a great selection of gins, beers and wines, the problem we encountered was the length of time it takes to get served at the bar, as it was staffed with only one or two bar staff who also were taking food orders. I have to say that even though we had to wait an hour and fifteen minutes for the food the quality is really good.
The site also has leisure facilities which you can pay for and a well stocked shop and cafe.
My only other complaint would be that other sites we have stayed at provide a mop and bucket for the showers to be mopped out after using, as it rained practically the whole stay they were very muddy at times.
The campsite is located perfectly for coastal walks into West Bay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Dorset Lei... H, Public Relations Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review which we have taken on board and passed on to the team.
Unfortunately this Easter was a particularly wet and cold weekend across the country. The ‘Beast from the East’ and the large amount of snow and rain we had during March gave us some very wet conditions on the parks, understandably, more electricity was being used which meant that the electric supply to the park went down during the weekend. Western Power were called out and worked tirelessly to resolve this and also within 3 hours. Our teams walked around the park to check on our customers during the power outage and also we had the reception and/or the bar open at all times as a point of contact.Unfortunately, there were some longer waiting times in Martins Restaurant and our staff meeting next week will be reviewing how we can improve. We would like to assure you this exceptional weekend was not a true reflection of the park as you will see from previous reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Just returned after a week at highland ends caravan park. It's a lovely site staff very helpful and we used the pool numerous times we got the week pass and took advantage of the adults only between 7. 10 am. Watched the sun rise from our caravan to the sunset amazing views. Plenty of walks along the jurassic costal foot path with breath taking views. In my opinion the site became very full on the Thursday night before the Bank Holiday Easter weekend. It became a bit chaotic a lot of caravans motor homes arriving late Thursday and Friday and trying to find a pitch. A lot of the pitches are close together and unless you have a motor mover it's difficult to reverse into especially with out going onto the grass wich was sodden with all the rain. All in all we had a good time even thou the weather wasn't kind. Would I return? Yes but definitely not on a bank holiday weekend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Dorset Lei... H, Public Relations Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Gareth,
Thank you for your feedback, so nice tohear that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
The pool pass is very usefull as you found out especially if the weather turns.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I have been visiting highlands end for over 20 years and seen many changes. My last trip being easter 2018 (at the time of writing I am still pitched up). The camp has recently expanded adding more motorhome pitches and pods, all of which demand more electricity. Regretably, WDLH have failed to upgrade their power supply and, so far, the camp has endured 3 power cuts in as many days, all lasting several hours. Second power cut, a representative did the rounds asking caravan and motorhome owners to turn down their heating as the system could not cope. The clubhouse has had a serious make over, but annoyingly does not have the appropriate number of staff to meet demands. Saturday night a queue of 20 - 30 people long at the bar and Sunday a wedding reception competed with the high volume of Easter campers, seriously depleting the level of service to below satisfactory!! Customer service is non existant, the whole place smacks of desperation and, clearly, there is a need for more competent management. Definately my last trip and financial contribution to this soulless establishment.
Martin's Bar: Grossly overpriced food and beverages.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Dinodoesstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Dorset Lei... H, Public Relations Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review, unfortunately this Easter was a particularly wet and cold one for all of the country
Understandably, people were cold and wet so more electricity was being used on park which meant that our electric supply went down during the weekend. Western Power were called out and worked tirelessly to resolve this and also within 3 hours. Our teams walked around the park to check on our customers during the power outage and also we had the reception and bar owner at all times as a point of contact.
This exceptional weekend was not the normal standard of Highlands End as you are aware having previously visited us on many occcasions before. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Just to say a big thank you to all at Highlands End .
Having phoning Highlands End to cancel our visit on our day of arrival this Easter weekend due to us deciding that the weather conditions where not good for a tent they, due to extreme conditions , gave us the offer of moving our booking free of cost .
Having getting up at 4 am and starting off on our travels to turn around it was a nice surprise as they didn’t have to offer this and we didn’t expect it .
We look forward to seeing you all on the second bank holiday in may .
Thanks again .
Kurt Mcleod

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kurtmcleod49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Dorset Lei... H, Public Relations Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Kurt, a big thank you to you from all of the team for being so understanding.
We look forward to your visit in May and hope the sunshine will be out this next bank holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Great campsite in a lovely location. Its our second visit but wont be our last. The site is located a short walk from west bay. Very pet friendly with great walks along coast in both directions, toilet blocks were immaculate during our stay. Used Martins bar for an evening meal, Sunday lunch and breakfast all of which were of high quality. Found Martins bar relaxing and the staff were friendly and helpful. Great views from our motorhome pitch. All round a great experience which we will repeat in the future, 5 stars from our dog as well.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Dorset Lei... H, Public Relations Manager at Highlands End Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Steve, a huge thank you from all of the team for your 5 star review, great to hear that you enjoyed the location and your pitch.
We strive to be as pet friendly as possible and its so nice to know that you all enjoyed Martins restaurant along with your dog, see you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews