We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
205
80
20
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
205
80
20
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scallops west bay the pub free car park surf and turf fish dishes ate here pudding belly pork cooked to perfection palmers beer specials board lovely atmosphere wine list plaice sunday lunch booked a table
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

I have eaten here a few times in the past, the last time a year ago. On my previous visits the meals have always been good. On this occasion however the calamari was limp and totally tasteless and had the taste and appearance of a frozen product simply placed in the oven. The smoked salmon blini had little taste and again looked and tasted like pre-made mini blinis with very average smoked salmon. Perhaps they should consider serving food which has been prepared and cooked in their kitchen and not simply out of a packet.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank BadgersFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel G, Owner at The West Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Hi there

I'm sorry you feel this way however I must disagree with your comments. The calamari and the blinis are made on the premises we do not buy anything that comes out of a packet!

All our ingredients are fresh and made to order. The taste however we will look into if it didn't have enough flavour it is certainly something we will explore.

We hope this doesn't put you off trying us again.

Many thanks
The West Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Our children bought us a 3 night break at this 18th Century inn as a Christmas present , the rooms warm clean and large with large en suite; the staff friendly welcoming and attentive nothing was too much trouble The breakfast i would challenge you to find better anywhere and evening meals we booked were exactly what you would expect after seeing the rest. i have no hesitation in recommended this small hotel to anyone, check my reviews i do loads and i am always honest in my opinion. i am very impressed with the West Bay Hotel and its staff, also helps that the Hotel has its own parking

Room tip: We had room Number 1 and was just as described
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel G, Owner at The West Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to seeing you again!!

Many thanks
The West Bay Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

I went there as part of a local walking group. We were promptly served with our drinks, by the affable and efficient bar staff. 14 of us sat down and made our orders. The service was speedy so we all ate together. Lots of us had fish and chips that looked very good. I had scallops and belly pork from the specials board, which was served beautifully with nice garnish and chips. The meal was delicious. We had a great time there.

Room tip: Front of the house for a view of the beach
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 376boba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely pub, had classic scampi and chips while others had fish and chips, both generous portions and well priced. Quick service for a Saturday lunchtime. Ample parking and a good retreat from the sea breeze!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mattjones_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We decided to have a meal here following a very blowy walk along the beach. We had the fish and chips and the scampi, both meals were well cooked and the service was good. Some very interesting pictures on the walls showing the area before the sea defences were put in place with the pub flooded.
The pub was busy too always a good sign if the locals use it.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Saluki25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews