We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation and facilities...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of A cote

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Relax!
The master bedroom
Cosy single room
Shower Room
Kitchen
From the'Woodland corner'
Coffee corner under Wisteria in full bloom
Water feature
The Folie
Any old iron?
Arial view
The garden
The Woodland
View from the Afternoon-Tea corner
High Noon tree Peony
From the roof top
Red hot
The rockery in early spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Beaminster, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and facilities complimented by a beautiful garden, a definite 'must return' venue”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I would have no hesitation in recommending 'A Cote' to anyone seeking an extremely comfortable self catering holiday with every need provided for. Laurence and Michael were both extremely friendly hosts and provided many tips and information on the immediate area, 'pointers' for other places to visit plus the best routes to avoid the traffic! The bungalow is ideally situated to explore West Dorset and the town of Beaminster is easily accessed via a short walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All aspects, but especially the patio area overlooking the garden.
Liked least: At the moment, Beaminster, like many rural areas, suffers from poor mobile network (o2) and internet coverage.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay in À côté. We look forward to welcome you, and we will do further home work for some more pointers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A Cotè is an absolutely luxurious cottage in Beaminster. Well outfitted...wonderful beds and great location. Laurence and Michael are very friendly and helpful hosts. You couldn't ask for anything more. I would highly recommend a stay here if you have the chance. My friend and I had a wonderful time. Thank you very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds
Liked least: Nothing. It was all lovely
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for the compliments. Glad you enjoyed it and had a good time, and hopefully we will see you again. Keep well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosemaryh...
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
“Charming, updated cottage in Beaminster”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was my second stay at A Cote cottage in Beaminster. It was a wonderful stay just as before with updated furniture, carpet and paint to further enhance it's charm. It is located within easy walking distance to the Town Square in Beaminster where all needed conveniences are located. Bus service is available for those without vehicles .. Beds are comfortable and fully equipped kitchen . The bathroom is roomy and bright and modern. The hosts, Laurence and Michael are warm and gracious and maintain a glorious garden and patio for outdoor eating or relaxing. Thanks for another perfect week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: updated bathroom and kitchen
Liked least: busy road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thank you for this lovely review. We are always very pleased and happy to welcome guests the second, third, fourth etc time round: it proves we are doing something right!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patty_mat...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A' Cote was a true delight.”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A' Cote was our first stop on our journey around England and Wales. What a wonderful introduction to village life! The owners Laurence and Mike are a charming couple who really care about their property and their guests. The village is lovely and caters for visitors needs, and only a short walk from the cottage. Off-street parking was a bonus, as we found out further into our trip. The cottage provided for all our needs, comfortable beds and a warm, clean environment - what else could you want? We were charmed by the local church bells which invited us to explore the village by foot - a really nice experience. And of course the Dorset countryside was something to behold, especially in the Bluebell season. We really enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail by the owners, and the charming surroundings.
Liked least: Other guests made a fuss about the road noise, but it was no bother - you cannot shift the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
We have just got your wonderful review. Thank you very much, and we are very happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and in beautiful Dorset and we hope that some day you may return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a convenient location”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here over the May bank holiday weekend. Michael and Laurence greeted us and were very welcoming. The cottage itself is perfect and finished beautifully. We have a one year old son and he enjoyed the crawling on the lovely thick carpet! It is also in a great location to visit Dorset sitting in the middle of Lyme Regis and Weymouth. The road outside is relatively busy but understand there was a diversion which increased the traffic. Will definitely stay again and will try and visit again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
It looks like we have been having computer problems, and have not received reviews until now. So sorry for the delay in replying.
Thank you enormously for such a golden review. We are very pleased to hear that Junior enjoyed the carpet! Maybe you will bring him again when he is a old enough to go fossil hunting. It will be a pleasure to welcome you once more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing