We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning setting”
other travellers have booked this property
The Stables, Wears Farm, Abbotsbury DT3 4JZ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stables, Wears Farm, Abbotsbury DT3 4JZ
Open plan kitchen diner (with door to downstairs king ensuite) Ensuite (shower over bath) king bedroom (downstairs)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
The Stables, Wears Farm, Abbotsbury DT3 4JZ
Open plan kitchen diner (with door to downstairs king ensuite)
Ensuite (shower over bath) king bedroom (downstairs)
Ensuite bathroom (downstairs)
Snug room (with door to open plan kitchen diner)
Family room (with doors to terrace and garden)
Family room (snug room behind staircase)
Double bedroom (upstairs)
Twin bedroom (upstairs)
Upstairs family bathroom (shower over bath)
Wears Farm (The Stables, The Grain Store and The Cow Byre)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Abbotsbury, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
dmr101
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed 26 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was a perfect getaway in terms of setting - wonderful walks and views nearby, and no sound except the sheep all day. The view of Chesil Beach from the top of the hill was definitely worth a look each day. But we felt the cottage itself needed some tlc - the furniture was a bit saggy, the beds too soft, and mis-matched/not enough glasses, bowls, cutlery etc. The highlight for everyone was the ice dispensing fridge - a godsend as our stay was during a heatwave! For us, the property was too close to the others - my mistake, as I didn't realise it when I made the booking. One of our dogs escaped through the fence, but luckily only into a neighbouring garden. If you prefer large or soft towels, bring your own. We had a nice stay, but it didn't feel as luxurious as some of the other places we have stayed for a similar cost.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review and your helpful comments, we will have a look at the crockery numbers etc it seems that some items may have been broken and not replaced so thank you for letting us know. We do provide standard sized bath towels rather than bath sheets for practical reasons so we will consider advising guests of this as some people do prefer larger towels and therefore may like to bring their own. We are delighted that you had a lovely week and great weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena S
1 review
“Stunning setting”
Reviewed 29 June 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Excellent location, stayed here with family who have stayed before. Lovely cottage, quiet & rural setting but not too far for getting out.
Decor was contemporary, beautiful bedding & all rooms were to a good standard. Our only disappointment was the slight lack of kitchen equipment, the fridge did not seem to work fully & the towels were small & rough!
There is plenty of space & the kitchen with it's size & large farmhouse table really became a central gathering point.
If you are lucky enough to stay here, I'd highly recommend getting up early to head up the hill behind the cottage to watch the sunrise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Stables. I can confirm that following Duncan's email, the fridge thermostat was replaced and wine is now chilled on guest arrival! I am sorry that the towels were rough, this is unacceptable and has been taken up with our laundering contractors. We thank you for your feedback and hope you all return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunns2201...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great venue for a family get together”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Location was excellent as we had 2 very young children and found plenty to do without travelling too far. Plenty of space in the house and very child friendly. Very comfortable beds, plenty of hot water and everything you need for a relaxing holiday, Good range of dvds to watch - wifi was slowish but ok, phone signal varied according to what network you were on. The children loved the fact that the cows/sheep visited daily, coming right up to the fence in the back garden. The only reason for not giving it 5 stars was the fridge didn't get cold enough, and the washing machine/dishwasher were both a little temperamental. Also there was 1 set of cutlery for 8 etc so we had to continually either wash by hand or very regularly use the dishwasher. None of these negatives, however, spoilt our week and we all had a wonderful holiday in a beautiful part of England.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Stables. I can confirm that the fridge has a new thermostat now and both the dishwasher and washer/dryer have been replaced since your visit. Additional cutlery has also been purchased. We thank you for your feedback and hope you and your family return to our beautiful part of England in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MazEgg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect base for a Dorset holiday”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Stables is a beautiful conversion, tastefully done and in a wonderful setting away from the wider world. Neighbouring properties are close, but privacy is not compromised once inside. Plenty of parking and very well equipped, with everything you could wish for as a family. Despite being a 'dog friendly property' there was no smell, although the vacuum cleaner had clearly been used after occupancy by dogs, as it did smell strongly.
We had a lovely stay and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to be conveniently located to explore the coast of Dorset. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Stables and hope you will return for more Dorset exploring and Jurassic fantastic adventures. We are sorry about the Dyson, we have now deodorised if for the enjoyment of future guests and thank you for bringing the matter to our attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Stables and hope to welcome you and your family back again in the future for more Dorset ridgeway walks and South West Coast Path adventures on the Jurassic fantastic coastline in Abbotsbury-by-the-Sea.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing