We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,017)
Filter reviews
1,018 results
Traveller rating
621
261
78
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
261
78
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bistro restaurant lovely hotel sea view hotel is situated steam room stunning location cream tea relaxing stay lundy island overlooking the beach indoor pool lovely room public areas fabulous views cooked breakfast short break coastal path
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 1,018 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Wonderful location overlooking Woolacombe Bay. Modern hotel with wooden floors etc. Great shower. Breakfast excellent and dinner was good in our second night. It was very hot during our stay but even so winter type duvets were provided. I know that everybody likes duvets nowadays but in this heat a sheet and a very thin blanket would be preferable.It seems that many people park here ( not connected to the hotel and walk to the beach), so a parking spot was sometimes at a premium.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased you enjoyed the location our hotel offers, the hotel interior and the food served for both breakfast and dinner. Our Housekeeping team are more than happy to make beds up with sheets and blankets upon request. We hope to welcome you back to the Watersmeet in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

Visited the hotel in the afternoon for a drink and was so taken with the surroundings and views we decided to book a table for the evening,very nice helpful staff food good but disappointed with selection,particularly small choice of fish dishes.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mole250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you for your review and for visiting the Watersmeet. We are pleased to read you enjoyed the position our hotel offer and found the staff helpful. Thank you for your feedback regarding our the choice of fish on our menu. We hope to welcome you back to the Watersmeet in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We spent one night here. Arrived in a thunderstorm and got soaked dragging our bags up the steps from the lower car park.
Our room was large with the view of the rocky cove below, and Woolacombe bay. From the other window was a distant view of the island of Lundy. As it had been so hot, we requested only a top sheet and blanket on the bed, and this was done. Also there were 2 small fans. I suppose for safety reasons the windows did not open apart from 2 upper small ones. so the room was stuffy and hot. We were very glad of the fans during the night.
The highlight of our stay was a bistro meal on the terrace. The weather had cleared enough for us to sit outside, take in the view with the tide coming in. Absolutely magical! the food was good, hot and well presented. The cheese board was excellent, as was the crème brulee.
The staff are very friendly and attentive. The breakfast was also first class.
We would like to visit again, perhaps in a room where we could open more windows. Maybe in the autumn

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your one night stay with us and the requested sheets, blankets and fans were a relieve during the heatwave. A highlight of the Watersmeet certainly is dining alfresco on our terrace and we are delighted to read you enjoyed this experience with a Bistro meal to match and a particular mention to our local cheese board and crème brulee. Thank you for your praise our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Watersmeet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

great clean friendly hotel overlooking the sea with indoor outdoor pools. nice terrace off the bar. clean room and a very nice breakfast. a short walk uphill to morthoe and a short walk down hill to woolacome town.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you for your review and description of our hotel. We pleased you enjoyed your stay and the location our hotel offers. We hope to welcome you back to the Watersmeet soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We were a little apprehensive when we arrived at the Watersmeet Hotel on Monday 25th June after reading Trip Advisor reviews. We needn't have worried. The Receptionist was very welcoming and informative on our arrival. Our room on the 3rd floor was right near the lift. The room was small but perfectly adequate with a comfortable bed, good shower over the bath and air-conditioning in the room for which we were very grateful in the heatwave. There is free Wi-Fi. The only noise we could hear at night was the sea lapping the beach. We ate in the Pavilion restaurant at a table by a window overlooking the bay watching the sun go down on all three evenings. The food was extremely good on all three occasions. We found all staff to be very helpful, particularly Mark and TJ, who only joined the Staff on the Saturday before. We would certainly stay here again.

Room tip: Most rooms have a sea view, check when booking.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YJP568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Front Office Manager at Watersmeet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us which began with a warm welcome from the Reception team. We are delighted Room 30, a classic double sea view room suited you perfectly and the air con was a relieve during the heatwave. Thank you for your praise of all three meals enjoyed in the Pavilion Restaurant and your praises of our team with a special mention to Mark and TJ. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Watersmeet soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews