We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
43
31
8
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
31
8
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub white hart great food an evening meal plenty of parking rump steak friday night nice atmosphere sunday roast open fire pate real ale stopped for lunch friendly service comfortable rooms family members easy access
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Four of us popped in early on a Sunday lunchtime as it was convenient and close to where friends were staying. The pub staff were welcoming and professional. The decor was unfussy, clean and pleasant. We only wanted a snack and ordered jacket potatoes. Well presented by a friendly waitress who checked back later to see all was well - it was! The food is very good value for money, the plates of Sunday roast looked delicious. It was nice to that our drivers soda was free! We will be back.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ect67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Well the food was absolutely first class, agreed by all family members. The 'ultimate' chips where the best chips we had ever tasted, crispy and melted in the mouth!

The joint owners are really welcoming and very flexible, nothing was too much. We also liked the bar environment, very fresh and welcoming and really nice clean decor. Recommended for couples or for families.

We didn't stay in the accommodation so can't add comments on that.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank LetRippr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

It was a random stop early, (17.00), on a Tuesday evening. We've driven past it many times on route to Plymouth from Poole and vice versa but it was never "the right time". This time we did and thoroughly enjoyed it. We shared the Starter Special of Filled Potato Skins, (good job we did otherwise no space for a the mains), and both had the Rump Steak. The meat was excellent and cooked exactly as required by the chef who popped out from time to time to check how we were doing. The large plate provided a salad, mushrooms, onion rings as well as chips. (see what I mean about sharing a starter) We were asked if everything was OK, and it was.
We are tempted, next time, to break our journey and have an overnight stay. We were advised to book early as "business traffic" quickly fills the rooms.
The menu has something to appeal to pretty much everyone.
We'll definitely drop in again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Upton72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Stayed here on Friday night to break the journey to Cornwall. Just in time to get food order in before they closed for the evening. Meals were large and very good value for money.
Room was adequate for one night stay - bathroom very large and spacious - which would accommodate a wheelchair - but there is no easy access to get to the room, which is a shame.
Room was comfortable, bed was very springy and probably could do with being replaced. Otherwise a very good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Chose the White Hart at random for a spot of lunch on a tip down to Devon. Staff were friendly & polite & our lunches of Pate & a Sausage Bagette arrived quickly. Sat in the rear garden & watched a family of bees going into there home. Noticed they also had overnight accommodation.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews