We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the perfect place to recharge your batteries”
other traveller has booked this property
The Cottage nestled on the side of the valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage nestled on the side of the valley
The cosy cottage has full central heating as well as a superb log burner - logs included! A state of the art luxury kitchen features granite worktops and top of the range appliances.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Cottage nestled on the side of the valley
The cosy cottage has full central heating as well as a superb log burner - logs included!
A state of the art luxury kitchen features granite worktops and top of the range appliances.
The outdoor patio/sunbathing area along with barbecue, hot tub and outside dining.
The luxury hot y=tub has commanding views of Exmoor and the valley below yet is very private
The open plan downstairs gives a feeling of space in this cosy cottage
An aerial view of the cottage, pool and outdoor area with parking to the side.
A king size bed with top quality mattress is in the main bedroom with a single bed as well.
The pool is suitable for all ages!
The indoor pool is for your exclusive use and is kept to a warm 31.5C.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Umberleigh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
benoir b
1 review
“the perfect place to recharge your batteries”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a find! Only a couple of things to complain about, the first being that we wished we`d stayed longer and second that the pics on the website don`t do the cottage justice.
Great pool, hot tub and cosy cottage. Rob and Veronica were really welcoming and extremely helpful and a massive thanks to them for making this beautiful place accessible to us all.
ps wonderful dark skies at night

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole experience
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoftwareB...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Perfect Week In Peace Heaven”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely rustic location with fabulous views. The cottage was fantastic and well equipped with everything you could need. Cosy, peaceful and idyllic surroundings.

The pool and hot tub were perfect. The owners who live next to the cottage, were charming. They did everything they could to make our stay wonderful.
There were many lovely places to find and enjoy in the area. We would certainly recommend this cottage and it is our intention to return.

PS Thanks for the freshly laid eggs, delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travellin...
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Arrived at night (directions from owners were spot on) Arrived to a warm cottage and were greeted by the owners who showed us the amenities.
Found the cottage to be clean; warm and homely and the heated indoor pool superb.
The location is both tranquil and handy for exploring North Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated indoor pool.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephxrya...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most comfortable, relaxing break ever :)”
Reviewed 5 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Bartridge farm cottage has by far been the most peaceful and homely place I've ever been. The log burner was on for our arrival and there were fresh cream teas on the table :) I also ordered a food shop from Tesco and all my goods were put away in the fridge etc., much appreciated. Robert was a delight to meet, a really nice guy who made sure everything was perfect for us. The indoor pool was great and warm, loved it, and the hot tub was the hottest I've ever been in! heaven in the start of December!
Me and my partner will be back defiantly, never enjoyed a break so much. Thank you!!! xx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottonbud...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A hidden gem what a wondefull place, spent a week wish it was a life time.”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

On arriving we could not believe our luck, what a view, the cottage is as it looks quite and peace full yet comes with those extras you don't normally get a private pool all to our selves a hot tub over looking the valley.All with in driving distance to the coast and and amenities, Ie shops and local produc,e the butchers in Bishop Tawton we had a great steak, this is on the the way to Barnstaple. at the end of the day you get what you want out of this holiday all we wanted was to relax, and we did if you looking for beaches and other things to do its all to hand, we will be going back. The owner's are so lucky to be able to share a bit of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing