We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing experience

Just my wife and I on this Badger watch. Once in the vicinity of the Badger set you are not able to... read more

Reviewed 13 October 2018
John T
,
Coventry, United Kingdom
Didn’t stop smiling for days!

I think the title just about sums it up. It was a truly humbling and magical experience and we... read more

Reviewed 7 September 2018
TheYates
,
Bedford, United Kingdom
Read all 85 reviews
  
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
81
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animal lovers great opportunity to see unforgettable experience informative talk hide peanuts anne sett animals habitat woods farmhouse viewing cue loo
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Did not enjoy, not suitable for children, poor toilet facilities and parking overall a disapointing visit

1  Thank DulvertonvVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badgerannie, Manager at Devon Badger Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. We have to try to balance the natural environment with making the experience as easy and comfortable as we can for our human visitors.
Animals are smelly, that is part of the natural environment. As for the toilet facilities, they are clean and functional. I am at a loss as to what you expected from your visit and you are the first person ever to leave such a review, but we will continue to try to make sure our visitors see badgers in as natural environment as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

A wonderful experience that we will not forget. My wife and I were surprised to find we were the only people on our visit apart from our host Anne who was very knowledgeable and keen to share information about the badgers. We were lucky enough to see two badgers who graced us with their presence for about 30-40 minutes a lot of which time they were less than 4 feet away. It was a great opportunity to see these wonderful creatures up close and in their natural habitat. If this is something that appeals then I would absolutely recommend a visit.

1  Thank DFCSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badgerannie, Manager at Devon Badger Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
This year has been particularly challenging for Kevin and I as the badgers have been more reluctant and less reliable than usual (over the last 20 years) about coming up to the hide. They have also been much more wary of strange noises and smells than before which is why we have kept the numbers in the hide down and not carried out much advertising this year.
It is testament to your ability to stay quiet and still in the hide, that we saw 2 badgers for so long during your visit so thank you for your co-operation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

A truly wonderful evening. Felt very priveledged to be so close to these beautiful animals. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We booked a photography session and had a truly wonderful experience. The badgers come so close and although photography was more challenging as the evening progressed and the light faded you can still get some great shots. Remember also to put the camera down for a while and just watch these amazing creatures as they forage for food right in front of your eyes. Our host Anne was wonderful which added to the experience and ensured we got the most out of our evening. I will definitely repeat the experience - fabulous and an absolute privilege to witness. Thank you

1  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

This was our third visit to Devon Badger watch. This time there were 12 of us. We had bought vouchers for xmas for friends and we were cashing them in. (Yes you can buy vouchers for people). The group included six adults a 7 year-old two 11-year-olds and three teenagers. Within the group we also had someone with mobility issues so we had to take a slow walk down to and from the hide. We were lucky enough to see 7 badgers. Every time we have been we have seen badger. If you haven't seen world badges close up it is an amazing experience you can't believe how big and noisy they are as they snuffle through their peanuts. The owners of the farm clearly adore badges and are incredibly knowledgeable and welcome questions. A truly unusual and unforgettable experience.

Thank Lizi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews