We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fun and Quirky place to stay”
Beach Hut 1 in the Spring
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach Hut 1 in the Spring
Shaldon Beach Hut 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Beach Hut 1 in the Spring
Shaldon Beach Hut 1
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Shaldon Beach Hut 1 board games
Shaldon Beach Hut 1 is a healthy habbit
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Shaldon beach in front of Beach Hut 1
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shaldon, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie-An...
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun and Quirky place to stay”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked 3 nights at Beach Hut Number 1. Myself and my husband along with our 2 girls (10 and 5) just loved the position and the comforts of the Hut.
Weather wasn't too great but we made the most of places to visit and ate in the local restaurants and pubs.
A great way to spend some quality family time together - real fun for the kids and a change from boring hotel rooms.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position of the Beach Hut
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuliaAW59
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One word-fantastic!”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed in Beach Hut 2. We just booked for 3 nights because it fitted in with things plus we thought a short break would probably be best in a beach hut. But these are no ordinary beach huts and are so well planned that you do have a surprising amount of space for something so small. By the time we came to leave after 3 nights we didn't want to leave! It's just a matter of getting organised. We can't wait to stay here again. In fact everyone we have told about the beach huts wants to come and stay. Perhaps we should have kept it a secret? The location is brilliant-right on the beach. Shaldon is a lovely unspoiled village with plenty of places to eat and drink. We did try to dine at The Clipper café on the Monday evening (next door to the beach huts) but it was booked up and it wasn't even school holidays.
A really fun place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fun aspect
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deb f
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

me and my hubby stayed in this beautiful beach hut for 3 days. we contacted the owner on our arrival and were given a code to retrieve the keys ourselves. this was lovely as we did not have to wait around or travel to other places to collect keys.
beach hut 1 is set directly beside an all day restaurant/wine bar, but please do not let this put you off. we had no smells of cooking and had the convenience of not having to cook a thing if we didn't want to. saying that, the kitchen in the beach hut had everything we needed, we also had a small table and chairs to eat at inside if we wanted to.
The view across the river was breath taking, the sun came up around 7am and we had a front row seat every morning, it got even more beautiful as the sun went down.
this beach hut is very well designed and very cosy and warm. it has underfloor heating and was very welcoming after a fresh windy walk on the beach. it has full blinds at the windows which makes it very private and plenty of bedding and blankets if you get cold.
the weekend we arrived was sunny but cold during the days and as we settled down to sleep in the very romantic mezzanine, we realized that it was very hot near to the roof so we advise leaving the skylight open during the night.
i read some reviews that stated how small the bathroom was, yes its compact but it has enough room to perform its needs.
this was advertised for 2-4 people, it was perfect for the 2 of us but there would be an issue with privacy, regarding getting dressed and showering if another couple were there too.
overall this was a great compact, cute accommodation. i would definitely recommend this to my friends and may revisit during the summer months

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare B
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful little retreat”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

I stayed here for a little getaway on my own. It was comfy and cozy, really warm and well equipped. The owner was very friendly and welcoming, and left some lovely treats to welcome me! Shaldon is a lovely village, friendly people and nice places to walk to. This was exactly the treat I had in mind for myself I would certainly go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy641
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“3 nights away”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Something completely different, great accommodation and lovely area. All the little extras in the Beach Hut made it special and having The Clipper Café right next door was great delivering our food on the first night then went there for the best fish and chips the last night we were there. Highly recommend for a short break xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location on the beach
Liked least: matress on the floor upstairs, but we will return for another stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing