We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay - gorgeous cottage in a beautiful part...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pear Tree Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shaldon, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JennyJimJ...
London, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay - gorgeous cottage in a beautiful part of the world”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We just had our second stay at Pear Tree cottage - we loved it so much we came back. Fabulous house for a large family and extended family to stay comfortably. So much space to spread out it really feels like a home - not a holiday home. Owners have great taste and have resisted the temptation to cram it with ‘seaside decorations’ despite its amazing proximity to the beach. The garden really is a bonus in such a tightly packed place as Shaldon. We loved going to the Ness (book a window seat), Ode cafe is great and seafront pubs have seating areas right on the beach so you can watch the children play! Be sure to hire linens/ towels or it might not be a comfortable stay. The provision of tea/coffee, kitchen cleaning products this year was delightful after a long drive from London. Very responsive owners who were happy to give advice where they could. There is a parking spot outside the cottage - we have a huge 4x4 and had no problems. We even found a second parking spot with ease for my mother-in-law. Before leaving she said ‘there’s a special feel about this house’ - she’s not wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drizzy
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“great layout and parking!”
Reviewed 19 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location in Shaldon which is one of my favourite places in the UK. Modernised and well equipped cottage with great décor and layout. The four bedrooms upstairs are laid out so that there are two at one end of the corridor and two at the other, an ensuite at one end, the family bathroom at the other which makes sharing with friends/family much more comfortable. Beds and sofas are perfectly comfortable and the showers have excellent power. There is thankfully a bath if you have little ones and the plastic plates and cutlery is fantastically useful when travelling. We had no problems with heating or hot water- all well functioning.
The only things to be aware of is the linen- not provided but you can hire it from the owner. If you bring your own, you need everything, including bathmats and tea towels. We didn't watch the TV but if you were so inclined, it is quite a relic!
The car parking space is a good size- we parked one of the largest 4x4s on the road in it without blocking or obstructing the road in the slightest. It can sometimes be tricky to manoeuvre out though as there is some extravagant parking in surrounding spaces due to restricted space in the streets. So advice would be to take the smallest car you can if you have options.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melC1571
1 review
“On the whole a good stay”
Reviewed 10 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Very cold on arrival and a panic as no bedding or towels provided, when I contacted the agents they said I should have stated if I wanted bedding but have never been anywhere where it isn't provided anyway someone dropped it off in the pouch so we made all our beds up ourselves not the best start to our weekend but after that we had a lovely stay and enjoyed the cottage parking a bit of a nightmare can see why people have small cars there. Sofas and TV could do with replacing as we were in on an evening with kids but we still had a very enjoyable weekend having lovely meals at The Clipper, The Ness, The ODE cafe, The London Inn and The Clifford and a lovely sunday roast at Coombe Cellars

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3mga
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house, fabulous location”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very well-appointed house just minutes from the beach. The owner was very easy to deal with, and helpful in all aspects of the rental. Shaldon has lots to do – several restaurants, pubs, ferry, zoo, all within walking distance. Great for kids, or for adults. And it's lovely to come back to the thatched cottage with its walled garden.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pumpkinSt...
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect getaway”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

stayed for a long weekend what a beautiful house close to all amenities and a very good base to explore the lovely area .The house its self is very roomy with everything you need for self catering .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved the homely feel to the house and the village
Liked least: parking was bit difficult space not good if you have very large car
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing