We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (821)
Filter reviews
821 results
Traveller rating
324
240
131
57
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
324
240
131
57
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boathouse restaurant swimming pool half board captain dv small site water heater bedroom chalet electric cards evening entertainment lovely location entertainment team great holiday pirate ship kids club sun newspaper boat house sun holiday
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 821 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

I thought long and hard about the rating for this review and settled on "poor" for the following reasons.
We've visited Devon Valley a number of times and we've had very good and not so good experiences, we've experienced caravans which haven't been cleaned to the high standards that we've come to expect. But overall the one thing that seems to be consistent is the inconsistency of the food in the restaurant. This visit (23rd - 30th Sept) was probably the worst experience. We have never taken the half board option, as we never eat breakfast on the park and we usually eat off park for our main meal. However, we tend to eat on park the first night and always have the carvery. usually, this is a safe bet, reasonable quality and realistically priced, this time however it fell a little short. Firstly - upon entering the restaurant we were surprised at the number of "reserved" tables - for the half board guests, there were very few unreserved tables. OK, so we found a table and went up to the food order point and the guy who was on the till had been given a sweet by the daughter of another staff member - he put the sweet in his mouth and then in sight of us spat it out into a bin! We received our "token" for the carvery and the guy who was the carver had disappeared into the kitchen! When he returned it became apparent that he was quite inexperienced at carving the meat. Something I've never experienced before was the meat swimming in a shallow pool of water! I presume this was to keep the meat tender - sadly it didn't work with the beef! As well as tough beef, the roast potatoes were hard enough to crack ones teeth!! The rest of the vegetables were OK. As well as the poor quality food, the place was like a Disco, as the background music volume was wound up to maximum, holding a conversation was difficult.
We ate on park twice more - the second time was excellent, I had a chicken and mushroom pie which was full of chicken pieces and mushrooms and cooked to perfection. The whole experience was better, no loud music, an assistant manageress who came and asked if everything was OK - no loud music, but still a disproportionate number of reserved tables.
Our third meal was disgusting - my partner had a small lasagna, once she'd got through the first layer, the rest of it was burnt to a crisp. I took it back to the food order point and the guy asked "what is it" That says it all! He showed it to the chef, who asked "what happened to that"? Umm, you're the chef!! To the credit of the guy on the food order point he refunded me for the item and gave us desserts for free.
OK, so what about the rest of the holiday? We had caravan 215 (second time we've had this one) It was spotlessly clean. The park, as always, looks well kept, the grounds staff do an amazing job keeping the grass cut, the flower beds well tended, etc., The reception staff are friendly, as was the staff member in the shop. We never partake of the entertainment, or the pool, so can't comment.
Getting to the park is always an adventure as it is located along a narrow road, although there are enough passing places, just beware of the locals who drive at faster than realistic speeds on this road!
Arrival at the park sets the tone for the spectacular views over the estuary.
To conclude - we love Devon Valley, we will continue to visit, but we may eat fewer times in the restaurant.

Room tip: Caravans on the river bank give the best views.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gizmo2brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We Had a great time at this park staff were realy friendly and the entertainment was good never played bingo before. The swimming pool was great nice and clean and well looked after by the lifeguard who in turn was very friendly and helpfull wish they were like that our local.swimming pool.the caravan was very clean and tidy when we arrived nina did a very good job .we arrived at about 17.00 and we checked in we got to the caravan but no playpen which we had ordered but this was soon sorted out by the maintence men all in all it was a brilliant holiday and were else could you go fishing right next to a restaurant and pub

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Have not been to Devon Valley before, caravan nice and clean and site good. Restaurant OK and plenty of entertainment each night. Site shop stocked nearly everything you might need, swimming pool not anything special but was OK. Lovely site alongside the river with a good view from the restaurant.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DV_Reservations_Team, Booking Office at Devon Valley Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi Steve, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you had a pleasant stay with us, and we hope we can welcome you back again to Devon Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Definitely a restaurant to miss. I believe the actual caravan park and lodges are all OK, but the restaurant really is awful.
We had a job to find a table that didn't have a reserved sign on, though nobody used them the whole time we were there.
We sat down as quickly as we could, as the floors all felt sticky. What a disappointment to find the tables were sticky too, and stained, and crumbs all over them. The place mats also dirty and sticky.
I went and asked the guy behind the till if someone could come and clean the table, he replied that someone would come eventually, but at the moment they didn't have time.
We ordered green tea, they didn't have any. Fresh coffee? No. The only options came from a big standard push button machine. No thanks.
Mum had a fruit juice. Poured into a grubby glass from a cheap litre carton. We looked at the overcooked food on the bar keeping warm, no thanks, we skipped food!
We found it very expensive for what they are serving too.
The only plus point was the stunning location and view.
We are local, but definitely wouldn't be back.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank dawlishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DV_Reservations_Team, Booking Office at Devon Valley Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hello and thank you for leaving your review of our Boathouse Restaurant. I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience, which is sad to read. Our tables are predominantly reserved for Half Board guests during the evening meal, though most of the reserved signs should be marked for a specific time, which may explain why nobody sat down at the tables while you were with us. You would have been welcome to use any of the tables provided it was available for the reserved guest at the time stated. Your feedback on our drinks offer is important, so I have passed this on to the relevant management team. I am glad that you enjoyed the location and view. It's regrettable that you wouldn't return to us, but we would love to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We have been visiting this site for 5 years with our ever growing family we are now a party of over 16 and it never ever fails to provided us with an amazing holiday!!!! The staff are amazing the entertainment is absolutely fantastic and all the staff are lovely!! The kitchen manager is abit of a liability but everyone else is great! Amanda tom and coral are so good with the kids and very talented performers. We will always go back and could not fault it at all the boat house manager was so lovely to us and remembered us by name the accommodation is basic but it's clean and it's tidy and just wat u need for ur holiday!! I love Devon valley and I don't have a bad word to say about it from the whole Harvey-Till Family x

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DV_Reservations_Team, Booking Office at Devon Valley Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hello Vikki - what a lovely review! Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and recommend us. We hope to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews