We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
52
15
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
15
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tarka trail new owners washing up liquid music playing lovely campsite toilet block caravan club friendly owners woolacombe beach toilet facilities what it says on the tin pots and pans dog walking field pizza night slight problem bus stop nice site
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 69 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

We’ve just left and I have to say I was pretty blown away that despite being busiest bank holiday weekend, it’s was peaceful and tranquil.

The shower block is so well thought out, large cubicles with heaters to press so you don’t get chilly! Lots of hooks and shelves to keep everything up from the floor.

The washing up facilities are a plentiful and I noted they have wet suit drying rooms and dog washing room.

When we checked in they have DVD’s to lean for free, and books; it’s the little touches.

All in all we will not go anywhere else when we now visit Morthoe, this being because this little site is loved by the owners and staff and they absolutely keep this place running smoothly and peaceful

See you soon as we will be booking again

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Stopped off here for a couple of days with two tents mid September 2017. Ok, so we were out of season and it was quiet, but it did mean we could just roll in without a booking, and so glad we did. You've probably all seen photos of the Devon coast already - and stunning it is - but my reason for posting here is to highlight the standard of the bathroom facilities on offer at the Bay View Farmers Campsite near Woolacombe - so no photos of the beautiful coastlines and must visit places.....rather, photos of what you get when you make the all important trip to the facilities.
It was spotless. It was completely free of spiders too, and the white walls were crisp and clean throughout. There were a good number of sinks with mirrors, each in it's own "cubicle". A good number of toilets, and showers, and I checked them all out, and they were all of an equally high standard.
I will point out that the whole bathroom facility is used by both male and female, so it is "communal" in that respect, but obviously the toilet and shower doors are lockable giving all the privacy anyone could ask for, but hey, it makes it totally family friendly. I noticed that the sinks not only had the usual wall mounted soap dispensers, but also the pretty push the top down bottles of soap that we all have at home, and each toilet had a resident can of air freshener......
Another really nice touch I thought, was the music playing in the background. The owners have really nailed the feel good factor when it comes to our morning routines!
And for those of us who have dogs, our four legged friends are not forgotten. There is a large dog walking area away from, close to but separate to the camp pitches - but best of all for the dogs, is the under cover doggy wash area, complete with shower, apron and shampoo! This in itself is better than some shower cubicles us humans have to use at some other camp sites.

I find that the bathroom facilities can sometime make or break a good stay, but that wasn't an issue here at all. Brilliant, and it is a credit to the owners and the unsung heroines who keep it that way.

Ok, so i will just mention the pitches - spacious, well marked out and level.
Will I return? Absolutely yes.

Room Tip: Worth staying here just to use the bathroom!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Moley64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

This was our second stay at the site and it was yet again a lovely experience. It is very well maintained and is of the same standard as the lauded caravan club sites; the grass is kept short, the hedges are trim, the showers and toilets are simply spotless, and the place has excellent access which is great if you have a massive caravan on the back! For me it was the little details which make this a 5 star rating specifically the dog wash with apron and warm water, the wetsuit wash and hanging area, the extra little shower in the families room which our 2 yr old spent a good while sat under whilst the grown ups got washed, and the fact that the pots and pans cleaning area had a supply of washing up liquid (which we forgot! thanks!) The pitches are nice and big with a large open area to the front of the caravan which the kids used for playing.

Something which I have never experienced before but which characterises this site was when the owner came over to ask our group if everything was alright (we were sat around a fire basket at the time which you can rent). He could see that we had not brought enough chairs so he lent us some - we did not ask but he insisted! It is that kind of service which puts this place on the map.

No site is ever completely perfect and it would be a disservice to the owners and visitors if my review did not have any constructive criticisms. Therefore I do have a few suggestions although they are really minor; a set of swings and a slide would be a great addition to the childrens play area, maybe a little cafe to get coffee in the mornings and food in the evenings or something and a recycling bin for cardboard. Other than those incredibly minor points it was a fantastic holiday and we would like to say a big thank you to the owners and staff for being so welcoming!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank biggysmall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Stayed here for 13 days in September in our caravan. We had a gravel pitch with a lovely view over fields down to the sea. The Toilets and showers are immaculate and even have music playing in them. It is a unisex block but that was absolutely no problem. We have 2 dogs and it really is a dog friendly site with a lovely designated dog walk field, they also have a wonderful hot dog wash just the job for sandy dogs! . Also adjacent to the site is the Tarka trail so another good walk close by. We did have alot of rain mainly at night and the only slight problem we found was with there being a slight slope down to the pitch we did have a bit of water in our awning, it wasn't major and in no way would it put us off that pitch again and as i said we did have alot of rain so not really the sites fault. We were there through storm Aileen quite scary in a caravan but everyone survived to tell the tale although their were a few bleary eyes from lack of sleep the next morning! Lot's to do and see in the area and very dog friendly beaches. We will definitely stay at this site again when next visiting this area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank debbierose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed at Bay View Farmers for 1 week in June 2017. This has got to be one of the best sites that we have stayed on in the last few years (including Caravan club sites). The pitch was very large and well maintained, There was loads of room for our car, caravan and awning and still had room to sit out on the grass if we wanted. The toilets were spotless and the shower had plenty of hot water with good pressure. The outside (covered) dishwashing area was kept very clean and washing up liquid and cloths are provided. The site is in a very good location with a bus stop very near (one way to Woolacombe and the other direction to Ilfracombe). There is a pub 5 mins walk from the site where children are welcome. We had a slight problem with our motor mover. We asked the site owner to recommend a fitter but he very kindly repaired it for us at no cost. That shows how considerate he is, a top bloke. We would definitely recommend this site and we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uniblueUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews