We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tinhay Mill Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Lifton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Working away from home is always hard but when you find a great place and a warm welcome it makes life so much better,Margaret and Paul are great hosts and our stay at Tinhay is always fun,you cant get better food anywhere if you tried,so if want a nice relaxing stay with great food look no further.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

The best thing about the Tinhay Mill Guesthouse is the amazing food that Margaret produces single handedly from the kitchen, she can accommodate all dietary requirements and the food is always brilliant. I would not hesitate to recommend the Tinhay Mill Guesthouse to anyone who will listen!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank caroline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Spent three nights at this beautiful hotel.What a lovely way to spend a short break,the staff,food and location were all excellent.The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the overall hospitality could not be faulted.We shall definitely return for our next trip to Devon

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We have just returned from a three night stay at Tinhay Mill Guesthouse and once again we have had a wonderful time thanks to the warm welcome of our friendly and hard working hosts Paul and Margaret and their staff. Our room was charming, peaceful and very clean and comfortable. We began each day with a delicious breakfast and ended with an excellent meal in the restaurant, created by Margaret who is an amazing chef, followed by a nightcap in the bar supplied by Paul. Tinhay Mill is situated in easy reach of many tourist locations and is a paradise for walkers and sightseers. We loved this place and look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We have stayed in this friendly questhouse for 3 days. As a coincedence we found this realy nice questhouse after a search of 3 hours in the surroundings of Dartmoor National Park. The Tinhay Mill is luxurous, clean, cosy and Paul and Margret are perfect hosts. Above all Margret is a great masterchef and her diners and breakfast are the best we have ever eaten in England. Paul is always willing to advise you about daytrips, he even planned a whole route for us. We have seen wonderful towns, nature and musea thanks to him. We can recommend this questhouse to everyone. It is located very central to visit Dartmoor, Devon and Cornwall. The price of this questhouse is also priceworthy. We planned to stay for 1 night but we remain there for 3 days because we loved it. Thank you Paul and Margret for everything. When we will return to this region in the UK we will certainly visit you again.
Best regards,
Michel and Brigitte from Holland

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiesBries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.6 km away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
356 reviews
0.8 km away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
526 reviews
6.6 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
463 reviews
13.9 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
339 reviews
6.3 km away
The Eagle House Hotel
The Eagle House Hotel
#2 of 12 in Launceston
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Lifton

Been to Tinhay Mill Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinhay Mill Guesthouse

Address: Tinhay Mill Guest House | Tinhay, Lifton PL16 0AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lifton
Price Range: $152 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tinhay Mill Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet village of Lifton, 2 miles from Cornwall, 10 miles from Dartmoor, 1 mile from the A30 and 38 miles from the M5-J31. Recently refurbished throughout, Tinhay Mill sets new standards for guest house accommodation. Bedrooms are spacious and well equipped with guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tinhay Mill Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing