We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and well run.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lifton Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lifton Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cosy and well run.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed just for one night, attending a wedding reception nearby. We also stayed in the Churchill room, decorated to a high standard with shower and jacuzzi bath. Cozy village pub, nice dining room, good car park, efficiently run, fast complimentary wifi, faultless really.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    52
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
199
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed in the Churchill room, which was absolutely huge and had a jacuzzi bath. I suspect it's the best room in the hotel. It even had a sofa. The restaurant was reasonably priced and the fish pie was absolutely wondeful !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bournemouthbabe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and each stay is as good as the last one!

From the moment you walk into the hotel, you are greeted by friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble and the atmosphere is very relaxed, whether you are indoors or outdoors. The food is very good and reasonably priced (the breakfasts are amazing)! The rooms are neat, tidy, spacious and very clean.

There are various 'Theme Nights' and Pub Quizzes at the hotel which adds to the attraction and charm of the place.

If you ever find yourself in this part of the world - this is the place to stay for an unforgettable experience. Thanks once again, and see you soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chri55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Hello and many thanks for your lovely words.

It's great to hear that we're friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. And there's another vote for our wonderful breakfast!!

I will pass on your words to the staff. And thank you again for taking the time to stop by TripAdvisor and say such lovely things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenterden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We were so pleased to have booked Lifton Hall. Our room was extremely large and beautifully appointed. The dinner we had was great value and good quality. Breakfast was very full. The staff were friendly and helpful. Altogether an excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peemies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Upon arriving at Lifton Hall Hotel we were welcomed by one of the owners with a big smile. Our room was a nice size and was nicely decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable (we travel a lot and this was the most comfortable bed we have slept in whilst away from home). The staff and owners were so friendly and as previously stated by another traveller nothing was too much trouble. We had an evening meal which was lovely and there was a wide choice something for everyone. we would recommend to other travellers to try as it was really tasty and all home made. Breakfast was great and their home made Jams were delicious ( so much so that we bought a jar to bring home ) If you are looking for a place to stay with charm and comfort this is the place to stay. It was spotlessly clean. We will be returning. Well done and thank you for making us feel so welcome. The location was excellent for exploring Devon and Cornwall.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beckford room which was great and other travellers also commented that their room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cockneysparrow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review. It's really great of you to take the time to put finger to keyboard, but I'm very grateful that you did.

It's always good to learn that things are going right, and I will feedback your comments to the rest of the team.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lifton
0.4 km away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
6.9 km away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
28.8 km away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hotel Endsleigh
Hotel Endsleigh
#1 of 1 in Milton Abbot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
31.1 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
28.3 km away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lifton Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lifton Hall Hotel

Property: Lifton Hall Hotel
Address: New Road, Lifton PL16 0DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Lifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lifton
Price range (per night): $172 - $223
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lifton Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Devon Cornwall, the Lifton Hall Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Southwest. We're a family-run hotel offering great service in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We have a cozy bar, with open fires, a stylish restaurant and 10 large, individual rooms. Families are welcome, as are pets. The hotel is no smoking throughout. Private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Lifton Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing