We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lifton Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 179*
USD 150*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Endsleigh(Milton Abbot)
USD 321*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Horn Of Plenty(Gulworthy)
USD 195*
USD 182*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duke of Tavistock(Tavistock)
USD 152*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 194*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 182*
USD 174*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 84*
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Ashbury Hotel(Fowley Cross)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
288
65
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
288
65
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse taster menudevon cornwallquiz nightspa bathtravelzoo deallovely little hotelroom was beautifully decoratedtwo nightshotel barhomemade marmaladeeasy accesscountry hotelpub foodfabulous hotelbase to explorepiecomfortable rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed in the Churchill room, which was absolutely huge and had a jacuzzi bath. I suspect it's the best room in the hotel. It even had a sofa. The restaurant was reasonably priced and the fish pie was absolutely wondeful !

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bournemouthbabe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and each stay is as good as the last one!

From the moment you walk into the hotel, you are greeted by friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble and the atmosphere is very relaxed, whether you are indoors or outdoors. The food is very good and reasonably priced (the breakfasts are amazing)! The rooms are neat, tidy, spacious and very clean.

There are various 'Theme Nights' and Pub Quizzes at the hotel which adds to the attraction and charm of the place.

If you ever find yourself in this part of the world - this is the place to stay for an unforgettable experience. Thanks once again, and see you soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chri55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Hello and many thanks for your lovely words.

It's great to hear that we're friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. And there's another vote for our wonderful breakfast!!

I will pass on your words to the staff. And thank you again for taking the time to stop by TripAdvisor and say such lovely things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We were so pleased to have booked Lifton Hall. Our room was extremely large and beautifully appointed. The dinner we had was great value and good quality. Breakfast was very full. The staff were friendly and helpful. Altogether an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peemies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Upon arriving at Lifton Hall Hotel we were welcomed by one of the owners with a big smile. Our room was a nice size and was nicely decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable (we travel a lot and this was the most comfortable bed we have slept in whilst away from home). The staff and owners were so friendly and as previously stated by another traveller nothing was too much trouble. We had an evening meal which was lovely and there was a wide choice something for everyone. we would recommend to other travellers to try as it was really tasty and all home made. Breakfast was great and their home made Jams were delicious ( so much so that we bought a jar to bring home ) If you are looking for a place to stay with charm and comfort this is the place to stay. It was spotlessly clean. We will be returning. Well done and thank you for making us feel so welcome. The location was excellent for exploring Devon and Cornwall.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beckford room which was great and other travellers also commented that their room were also lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cockneysparrow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Many thanks for your lovely review. It's really great of you to take the time to put finger to keyboard, but I'm very grateful that you did.

It's always good to learn that things are going right, and I will feedback your comments to the rest of the team.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Extremely friendly & welcoming, very comfortable rooms, spotlessy clean (would prefer larger towels & I am not big! Minor detail) Had two excellent evening meals & breakfast was fab!
Would definitely use hotel again if we were visiting the area again.

Thoroughly recommend
Thank you for great weekend

Room Tip: Ring & speak to staff very helpful
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiftonHall, Owner at Lifton Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Many thanks for your review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Sorry that the towel wasn't big enough. We use bath towels, rather than sheets, as standard - it saves a bit of energy and water, which helps to reduce our carbon footprint - but we do have sheets available. Next time you visit I'll try to remember a sheet for you (if I don't, please to ask for one!)

Thanks again for taking the time to write a few words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews