We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Just 10 minutes from the renowned South West Coast Path
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Just 10 minutes from the renowned South West Coast Path
And half a dozen of the safest, cleanest beaches in the country Down a winding country lane, at the end of a secluded farm courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Just 10 minutes from the renowned South West Coast Path
And half a dozen of the safest, cleanest beaches in the country
Down a winding country lane, at the end of a secluded farm courtyard
An unassuming exterior conceals an extraordinary transformation . . .
. . . of a 150-year-old barn into the coolest, funkiest, most stylish holiday home imaginable . . .
. . . designed to bring the outdoors in, and take the indoors out!
Upstairs, it's oak floors and sunlight, through roof, walls, and windows
While downstairs it's heated slate floors and eco-conscious LED lighting
Real shutters and 500-count Egyptian cotton ensure a blissful night's sleep (yes, that is a 6ft bed)
This luxurious family bathroom is the sort of place where days start and end well
Second bedroom comes with twin beds . . .
. . .or a super-kingsize – you decide!
And has its own stylish limestone bathroom with huge shower enclosure
Wherever you look, you're surrounded by green
Enjoy the comforts of home in our ergonomically optimized living area, snug whatever the weather
A compact but fully equipped kitchen puts you in control of those in-out dining decisions
There's a well stocked bookcase for rainy days
And a completely private and secluded garden terrace for the rest of the time
Paved steps run down to courtyard level and the front door
While a grassy path leads up past the dovecot to the orchard above
In the midst of so much high style it's easy to forget you're on a working smallholding
So don't miss out on your chance to get to know the locals
If petting the animals isn't your thing, how about a nice walk?
Or you could learn to surf at our nearby surf school
Sometimes all you want to do is just paddle around in the shallows
And while we can't guarantee spectacular sunsets, they are a feature of this part of the coast
Don't forget to come and see us soon!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
M H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Escape”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My husband, dog and I visited Appletree Cottage for Christmas. We were hoping for a peaceful escape from the city during which we could explore the surrounding countryside then hide away in the cottage to relax. Cotmore did not disappoint.

Our first meeting with Piers and his family was on the night of our arrival when they very kindly helped push our car out of the ditch we had reversed into. Not how we planned to start our holiday, but clearly neither was it theirs because they came to our aid instantly and without complaint. We were mortified and profusely apologetic and they were very gracious.

The cottage is newly renovated and feels fresh and very clean. Everything worked perfectly and we felt very much at home from the start. There was a delicious tray of local produce waiting for us and even a Christmas tree complete with lights and decorations !

We were left to our own devices and felt we had our own space despite the fact it is a small, working farm and there were other guests in a nearby cottage. The terrace for the cottage is very private and we would have certainly used it in warmer weather. We enjoyed meeting the pigs, dog, chickens, sheep and horses. We sampled the sausages and bacon too: both of which delicious.

It is a well-placed base for exploring the countryside nearby. The coast is in walking distance (perhaps 20-30 minutes) and we enjoyed exploring daily. One obviously needs a car to reach the farm, but once you are there is it possible to remain on foot if you are prepared to walk a couple of miles to the pub and back !

All-in-all : 3 very satisfied customers.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
1 review
“A relaxing stay in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

I stayed in Appletree cottage for a long weekend with my wife and very young children, we found the cottage nicely appointed, clean and very cosy.. Piers was extremely welcoming and the goodies left in the cottage were very tasty. We loved staying on a working farm as this is what we are used to. The star of our stay was the area, we have fallen in love with this part of the South Hams, we liked the walks on wind swept beaches and visiting the local towns, so much to see and do, what a lovely place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahlou7...
near birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in an equally beautiful location!”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Appletree Cottage in mid September, and had a lovely time. The cottage itself was very well equipped- the kitchen in particular! Big bedrooms with comfy beds and underfloor heating. Our 2 year old loved seeing the pigs, horses and 'chinkins' (chickens!), and it was nice to be able to wander around and look at the animals whenever we wanted- thanks Piers!

The location is perfect, very peaceful and within easy reach of some great places. We visited Salcombe, Dartmouth, Start Point, Slapton Sands, Blackpool Sands. Beesands (the home of the Cricket Inn which is lovely and the little shack that does good fish and chips) is only a mile or so away and had 'something about it' that we really liked. I think it was the peacefulness and the great views out to sea.

The ONLY, very minor thing I would point out is the lack of safety net around the trampoline! I know that it was used at our own risk, and our 2 year old loved it, but we were running round it like idiots whenever she went on to try and stop her launching herself off the edge! (which she would have done given half a chance!!).

Lovely holiday, we have already recommended Appletree Cottage to friends and family!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeonaT
Ascot
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in luxurious 5 star cottage”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fantastic short break at Appletree Cottage. This was our fourth time at Cotmore Farm . We had previously stayed at The Barn but on this occasion it was booked so we decided to try Appletree Cottage. We can honestly say that Appletree is every bit as good as The Barn. The cottage is virtually new and has been finished to an extremely high standard and specification. Everything you would expect from 5 star accommodation is provided. The bedrooms and en-suites are luxurious. The open plan living area and kitchen are faultless. Our 2 1/2 year old son loved reacquainting himself with the chickens, sheep, horses and especially the pigs ! The farm is located in a stunning area with fantastic beaches very nearby. We have travelled extensively and can genuinely say that the owners Piers ans Sue have got this absolutely spot on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockers_1...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Cotmore Farm in 2011 and revisited this year and was not disappointed. Appletree Cottage is the last of three conversions that Piers has completed and it is home from home with everything you need to ensure your stay is pleasant. A great welcome pack awaited with some lovely fresh pressed Apple Juice from the orchard and fresh eggs from the rare breed chickens that are on the farm.
We have now stayed in the Barn and Appletree Cottage and I hope it won't be another 4 years before we get to stay again.
The hosts are extremely helpful and nothing is too much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 148
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing