We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely escape”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Woodpecker Barn

Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Devon slate house sign Lounge area with doors to patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Devon slate house sign
Lounge area with doors to patio
Dining area and kitchen
Kitchen area
Kitchen
Main bedroom with double bed
Second bedroom with king size bed and a single bed
Bathroom
Double doors lead on to private patio
Teak table and chairs for 'al fresco' dining
The courtyard garden which is shared by our three cottages
Summer rambling roses outside Woodpecker Barn
Children's playground in our field just opposite the cottage
The alpacas in our field are as Interested in our guests...as they are in the alpacas
Our chickens who lay your fresh eggs
Local walk along the River Avon Valley
Bantham beach - great for families
Bantham estuary - fantastic walks
Reflections of Burgh Island
Walk along the estuary near Aveton Gifford
Dartmouth harbour - a beautiful town to visit - and maybe take a boat trip
Stormy seas and rainbow over South Milton Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
2RBT1
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely escape”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A great holiday cottage with everything that we needed......and lots of extras that were a bonus ! Plenty of things to keep our young children busy and Judy even came to the rescue with buckets and spades when we had unexpected sunshine.

A truly beautiful area of Devon and a fantastic setting at Woodpecker Barn to enjoy it from.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is our FOURTH stay at the Higher Hendham Barns - we can't get enough of it! We have three young children so Woodpecker barn suits us best with the configuration of the beds but we have also stayed in Kingfisher and this was perfectly fine too. The barn really is a home from home - there are all the cooking and kitchen / washing items you would need and the tasteful, warm decor makes you feel like you are at home rather than a faceless chain hotel. Mike and Judy are so welcoming and accommodating and really cannot do enough to help. The children's play area is great - our kids love it - and the collection of chickens and llama are of great interest too (especially the blue egg laying hen!), as well and the very friendly family labrador. The barn is welcoming as soon as you arrive with a lovely selection of fresh cut flowers and home made scones, jam and clotted cream, as well as fresh bread and home produced eggs - so if you arrive late and fancy a snack there is ample. The area is wonderful, although you really do need a car to get around and do food shopping. Totes, Dartington and Kingsbridge are just three of the nearby towns and there are TONS of fab beaches, beautiful countryside, NT & EH places to visit, as well as Dartmoor - of course. There is cycling, walking, canoeing, beach activity, horse riding, farms to visit, gourmet restaurants and good pubs, an adventure park, the National Aquarium at Portsmouth. We even managed a day return to The Eden Project in Cornwall one time..... There really is something for everyone - young or old, couples or families - and getting to them from Higher Hendham Barns is very easy and relatively near. I would highly recommend Higher Hendham Barns, hosted by Mike and Judy, and this area for a wonderful holiday in the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
606benr
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another stay at Woodpecker Barn, as great as our first trip”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed here again with friends for another post xmas getaway and everything was as good as the year before, apart from the weather but you just have to get on with enjoying the break regardless. The kids really enjoyed the stay and were excited to see the chickens again and play on the swings and slides. We took the opportunity to visit other areas that we hadn't been to previously (Dartmouth and Totnes which I highly recommend), we discovered some new pubs & /restaurants (The Tower Inn at Slapton is worth a visit) and left feeling refreshed and ready for the new year ahead. Once more Mike and Judy were more than accommodating during our stay and truly made us welcome at Higher Hendham.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family friendly barn in South Devon”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a lovely holiday in South Devon. On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome from Judy. Inside the barn we were also provided with farmhouse produce (eggs, scones, bread). The accommodation was in very good condition and provided everything we needed for our stay (e.g. a very well stocked kitchen with utensils, bed linen, towels). The barn is in a rural location but easily accessible to many towns - we visited Salcombe, Plymouth, Torbay and Dartmoor. It was ideal for our young family and our 16 month daughter loved seeing the chickens and alpacas. There is also play equipment (swings, slides and climbing frame). We had a great week and would highly recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma T
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Whilst the weather wasn't as good as would have liked during our stay, we felt immediately at home at Woodpecker Barn. It was well-equipped, clean, had easy-to-use appliances and stocked with basics such as soap and washing-up liquid, etc, so that you can just get on with enjoying your holiday. It was a good base to visit the lovely beaches and towns of South Devon. Judy and Mike were so friendly and relaxed, we felt very much at home there, and the Devon scones, clotted cream and other goodies they left to welcome us were a lovely way to start our stay.
This place would ideally suit younger children, as the alpacas and chickens were a great hit with others staying there. There is plenty of space for them to play outside in a nice , safe environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome pack!!
Liked least: Small bathroom for 4 to share!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing