We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very peaceful location”
other travellers have booked this property
3 Gabberwell Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3 Gabberwell Cottages
Bedroom 1 contemporary style Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
3 Gabberwell Cottages
Bedroom 1 contemporary style
Sitting Room
Morning Sunshine
Bedroom 2
Woodburner Warmth (plus central heating!)
Path to the Garden
Bedroom 2
Your village (this picture taken 50 yards from 3 Gabberwell Cottages)
Play in the Attic
A Nearby Walk
Gabberwell Cottages
Detail from ground floor bathroom - a walk in wetroom - main bathroom is upstairs
The Pub (600 yards stroll from the Cottage - or has a car park if it's raining!)
Window detail
A Stroll away
Garden
Bedroom 3
Morning sunshine
Kitchen
Recreation on the Water
View of Garden from the Private Parking Area
world class coast and breathtaking walks
Upstairs bathroom detail (there's also a bath!).
Bedroom 2 - Contemporary Style
Welcome to 3 Gabberwell Cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
670heathe...
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An attractive cottage”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thought Gabberswell was a very comfortable and attractive cottage in a pleasant, tranquil location. The information, both before our stay and at the cottage, was excellent.

Our one complaint was that the owner came into the cottage while we were out shopping without having phoned us to let us know (although we had spoken to her on the phone during our stay). She and a workman? stayed for some time.

Heather

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2014
We're pleased that Heather and her party found 3 Gabberswell to be a 'very comfortable and attractive cottage' and delighted that she would recommend it to her best friend. We're very proud of all the 5 star reviews received to date and so naturally we are very sorry to hear of her concern about Penny visiting the property with a workman during the holiday week. This is a very rare occurrence (we live a 220 mile round trip away from the cottage) and the visit was made to make some enhancements, and to clarify the operation of some of the amenities, following a phone call from Heather the previous evening. We tried several times to contact Heather to confirm Penny's time of arrival but without success. Penny was pleased to meet up with Heather at the property and enjoyed an amiable meeting with her and her party, so was rather surprised to subsequently read the comment in her review. We sincerely apologise for any inconvenience and can reassure Heather that we would not have gone ahead with the visit if we had anticipated that she would have any concerns about a workman attending to matters at the cottage in Penny's presence. Our only reason for attending was to ensure the best possible holiday experience for our guests. We hope that Heather will book with us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev H
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very peaceful location”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A very lovely and well thought out cottage. Everything we needed was there. Quiet village with just a pub within walking distance. No traffic noise and a enclosed garden for our two dogs. You need a torch as no street lighting and to see the dogs in the garden at night.
We are on EE/Orange network and could not get any signal but the wifi worked without any problems. Beds are comfortable and we took our own sheets/towels as there is a charge of £48 for these if you don't. You do need a car to get around as there is only 1 bus a week out of the village. The pub is very dog friendly but I would suggest booking a table for dinner at the weekends. Not a lot of choice of food but approx £10 per head for a main meal. Ample room for two cars at the side of cottage and even three at a squeeze. Ideal for anyone that can't manage stairs as there is a downstairs shower/toilet and a room next to that for a bedroom which had a sofa in which I presume is a pullout bed but didnt check. All in all a brilliant cottage eventhough the roads are very narrow around it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No traffic noise
Liked least: Car parked on our driveway on return from a day out
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Productio...
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Cottage is beautifully presented and very well equipped. Everything well thought out and most comfortable. Flexible accommodation. 3 bedrooms upstairs with the option for a 4th bedroom downstairs with en-suite. Couldn't fault the position - perfect for beaches - Bigbury a short drive away with all facilities or Wonwell is walkable - no facilities but completely unspoilt. Salcombe, Dartmouth and Totnes nearby. The Dolphin pub within walking distance. What more could you need?! Perfect.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, clean, restful!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, I and our 10 year old son stayed at 3 Gabberwell Cottages for a week in May 2014. We had been very impressed by the photos and description of the property, but it exceeded our expectations! The owners kindly emailed us local information in advance of our stay, and the welcome folders were very helpful too! The owners had also, very thoughtfully, provided a tray of tea, coffee and biscuits (milk in the fridge!) for our arrival.

The cottage is spacious, very clean, and beautifully decorated and furnished. The owners have ensured the cottage is very well equipped - a real home from home! It is in a beautiful, tranquil setting with fabulous walks and a quiet, clean beach just a short distance away (Wonwell Beach). It is in a great location to use as a base to visit Devon's attractions, including Dartmoor, the South Devon Railway, Greenway, and the fabulous beach of Bigbury on Sea with sea tractor to Burgh Island!

We are so pleased to have found this gem of a cottage and would definitely love to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Not applicable - it was all lovely!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a super Christmas week in this very cosy cottage. A Christmas tree and decorations had been tastefully put up, as well as a Christmas present and card, which I thought was very thoughtful.
Kingston and the surrounding area was a beautiful area, and despite the weather we walked our dogs everyday from the cottage, each time along different footpaths and bridleways (we have stayed in many cottages and this has been the best by far with walks straight from the door!)
We would definitely stay hear again, as it has everything that you could possibly need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing