We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A welcoming well furnished cottage in a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Just 10 minutes from the seals at Start Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Just 10 minutes from the seals at Start Bay
A stylish bijou hideaway cottage, flooded with light through floor-to-ceiling windows With its own sunny private garden and barbecue
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Just 10 minutes from the seals at Start Bay
A stylish bijou hideaway cottage, flooded with light through floor-to-ceiling windows
With its own sunny private garden and barbecue
A woodburner keeps things snug on the coldest winter evenings
While crisp cottons ensure a blissful night's sleep whatever the season
A complimentary basket of local goods awaits your arrival
Everywhere you look, oak and slate add a touch of luxury
Original contemporary art adorns the walls
There's a compact but fully equipped kitchen
A comfy leather sofa positively invites lounging
Find your own private hideaway in our 13 acres of pasture, orchards, and gardens
From the end of the garden there are views southeast to the sea at Beesands
Meet the piglets!
Enjoy close encounters of the horsey kind
The famous Devon Coast Path offers miles of wonderful walks
Where the views are never the same two days in a row
There's a magical air about the place at the beginning and end of the day
Beesands looks wonderful in winter sunshine
Enjoy woodland walks under ancient elms
The Cotmore chickens range far and wide, to bring you fresh eggs for breakfast
Misty autumn morning view from Rose Cottage
October sunrise at Cotmore Farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
roger t
solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcoming well furnished cottage in a delightful area.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very well presented , spotless and comfortable, with every convenience present. The local produce welcome pack was a surprise and delicious , the eggs being produced on the farm by the free range chickens. The enclosed garden is a sun trap having views across the fields to the sea. The owners were very welcoming and are always "on hand" if any help is needed. The local walks down traditional Devon lanes are a joy and not to be missed. The local pubs serve traditional beer and very god food specialising in fish caught locally in Start Bay. The larger surrounding towns such as Dartmouth , Kingsbridge and Totnes are well worth a visit. Thanks to Piers and Sue for a lovely holiday

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Littlehampton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely comfortable cottage on farm with horses, rare breed chickens and pigs plus Jack the dog. Eggs, bacon & sausages - delicious! Hosts Piers & Sue very helpful when needed and Bonnie, our chocolate Labrador was welcomed everywhere we went locally. My sister recommended Rose Cottage and we were so glad she did. This was a little known area of Devon for us and it was a joy. Enjoyed watching the birds on the feeders in the garden. Truly a haven. Be aware that some of the roads are very narrow!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & the good quality facilities in the cottage
Liked least: We cannot say there was anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12T2014
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay for two.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very friendly hosts on site, available if needed but not at all intrusive. Very quiet and tranquil location. The cottage has a sun-trap patio, overlooking rolling Devon hills - perfect to relax in before and after exploring the local area. Accommodation was spacious and contained everything needed for a self-catering holiday. The eggs from the farm's chickens were the best we have tasted - we would return for those alone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhutson4
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Holiday Heaven”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiiful. Stunning. Superior hospitality by Sue and Piers. Absolutely loved my mini-holiday in the country/beach-side. I highly recommend this location if you want to get away from it all, have access to gorgeous beaches, a good long hike along the cliffs, a lazy, peaceful breakfast in your own little garden. I can't say enough good things about this place. It's a definite 'must' when you just want to get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serenity of the farm and it's access to the coastline
Liked least: I can't complain about anything at all.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RocMat
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charm, comfort and good hospitality in South Hams”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The property is a new conversion which manages to combine modern comforts with a country style - wifi and fully equipped kitchen with a charming patio garden and a wood burner. Piers and Sue are nearly always around and extremely helpful and fun. We had some of their home grown pork and would recommend.
We had not been to S Hams before. It reminds us of N Norfolk in that good eateries are in abundance. The cottage guest book is a useful starting point. During our week we stayed in a 30 mile or so stretch from Bigbury on Sea to Dartmouth and there was so much to do we were not remotely bored. We hope this will not be our only stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Near faultless package across the board
Liked least: One hour to A38 heading East
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing