We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Base to return and relax!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kingfisher Cottage

Front view of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of the cottage
External photo looking in to the Kitchen Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Front view of the cottage
External photo looking in to the Kitchen
Sitting Room
Sitting Room
Kitchen area with breakfast bar
Dinning area of kitchen diner
Master Bedroom with King size bed and daybed
End Bedroom
Twin bedroom
Family Bathroom
View over the duck pond to the cottage
The naturally spring fed duck pond
view gardens and pond from the drive
Blackpool Sands
Coastline near Blackpool Sands
Salcombe Harbour and Lifeboat
Coastline near Burgh Island
Start Point Light House
View of Dartmouth Regatta 2010 - Red Arrows
Coastal view down the valley to Hallsands
The Trademans Arms (The local Pub)
Salcombe Harbour and Lifeboat
Dad and Son on Kayak at Blackpool Sands
Salcombe Estuary
Coast Line - Start Point to Slapton Sands
View looking down on Dartmouth
Salcombe Estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tom W
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Base to return and relax!”
Reviewed 27 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

6 of us headed down to the West Country on a friday and had a relaxing evening eating pasta carb loading before an Ultra Marathon on the saturday in horrendous weather, massive winds, lashing rain and loads of Mud!
Was so glad to get back to this lovely cottage, relax in a group in the spacious and comfy living areas and ordered in a Curry!
Great stay and we'll look to return in fairer weather.
Its a lovely part of the country, and I would recomend this as a perfect place to stay!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nealrover
Blackburn England
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well Equipped Cottage in Beautiful Area - Ideal for Family”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed here in mid-October and had a wonderful week both as a couple and part of the week with our Grandchild and family. This is a very well equipped cottage that was ideal for the 5 of us. Great log burner for the cool nights and a very good kitchen to keep everybody well fed. The 2 bathrooms were ideal although the water pressure could be a bit higher but there was always plenty of hot water. Living room was comfortable and the TV with I-Player and DVD's were great especially for the young one.
It is very quiet and peaceful but you do need to get used to the narrow lanes and definitely follow the written suggestions for access. Always exit towards Chillington/Kingsbridge!
The area is beautiful and we particularly enjoyed walking at Slapton Sands, Bigbury on sea/Burgh Island and Salcombe. Plymouth too was a pleasant surprise and the old quarter provided a super lunch (Quay33). Loved Start Bay Inn at Torcross/Slapton Sands also.
Thanks for a lovely stay and hope we can all join up there again as a family sometime
Neal

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilties and quiet location
Liked least: Shower pressure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maureen D
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, plenty of space”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

What a lovely cottage, so well equipped. We had a lovely week and for the end of September the weather was lovely. Already booked our week for next year. As someone has already stated the lanes are very narrow, but you get used to them quite quickly. One bit of advice use James's instructions how to get there not the sat nav. We made that mistake and it made the lanes down to the cottage look like a walk in the park. Overall an enjoyable stay thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Glad you had a great holiday and look forward to welcoming you next summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna2014A...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Gorgeous cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had the best holiday at Kingfisher cottage. We stayed with our 2 boys for a week. The cottage was so well equipped, clean, quiet and homely. We loved our stay here and would definitely consider booking again.
Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2015
I am glad you had a great holiday at the cottage and enjoyed all that South Devon has to offer. We hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing