We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, excellent accommodation and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kingfisher Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kimmerrit...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location, excellent accommodation and hospitality”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at kingfisher barn with our four year old son and 7 month old daughter and we all loved it! The play area was perfect entertainment for our son and the owners involved him in feeding the chickens which he thoroughly enjoyed! The cottage was extremely comfortable and very well equipped - they really thought of everything to make it a home away from home, including a lovely welcome pack of fresh bread, eggs, cream teas and biscuits - great hospitality. The location was great for exploring in and around the Dartmouth area but really peaceful if you just wanted to relax in quiet and beautiful surroundings. I would thoroughly recommend this cottage for anybody of any age, we would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and facilities in the cottage, and hosts
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaclair
Wincanton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I stayed here with my two teenagers and 5 year old - the property is excellent, light and spacious, well decorated, appointed and furnished, no detail left out making it a proper home from home. Judy and Mike are lovely, welcoming and helpful and the outdoor space with alpacas and chickens and a play area just adds to the attractiveness. I will absolutely stay here again, it is a few miles drive from Kingsbridge, Salcombe and Totnes, easy reach of everything including the coast but lovely and peaceful with great views and open space. You will not be disappointed, go and stay!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeD2005
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely farm setting - fantastic hosts”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely country aspect, amazing facilities, very family and child friendly. Our daughter loved helping collect the eggs every morning and playing in the playground afterwards. Lots of great places to visit for day trips (especially Pennywell Farm)
The hosts could not have been more helpful.
Welcome book was full of helpful information and tips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic hosts
Liked least: Intermittent slow wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
240eng
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great hosts, great facilities, great location- highly recommended!”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at Kingfisher Barn. The welcome basket (fresh eggs, cream tea and biscuits) we received on our arrival was delicious and a good example of the personal attention that the owners offer their guests. Our boys loved helping to collect eggs and feed the chickens. The barn is well equipped, cosy and very comfortable.

The rural location of the Kingfisher Barn is quiet and very relaxing. It is also a great base from which to explore south west Devon. Visiting Bantham Beach and eating gourmet burgers from the Gastrobus was a highlight. We explored Salcombe, Torquay, Dartmoor National Park and Exeter.

We will definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail H
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful, idyllic break!”
Reviewed 26 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The first weekend in December my old Uni friends and I arranged to have one of our annual breaks with our husbands and children. It is always a struggle to find somewhere big enough to house us all, but Judy & Mike's barns were just perfect!

Each barn was beautiful and felt so welcoming. We arrived late on the Thursday evening and Judy had even left us some fresh eggs from their hens and homemade bread for the morning. The rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean and each barn had its own unique feel to it. Judy and Mike's interior design choices are so tasteful and fresh looking.

As it was our annual, Christmas get-together each family took it in turn to host the evening meal. I am never keen on using other peoples kitchens due to not knowing where things are. The kitchen was so well laid out and because of the open-plan kitchen, dining, living room, we celebrated Christmas and our reunion in style!

Mike and Judy are such lovely, kind people and were an absolute delight to be around. Our two year old daughter would wake me up early so she could join Judy every morning for the egg collection. We would pop our wellies on and discover that our friend's children were also there eagerly waiting to join in. They each took their turn and Judy made it so much fun!

There is a fantastic little playground just in front of the barns and it even has a little trampoline.

The area is incredibly scenic and the location is perfect. The cottages are a stones throw from some of the most stunning beaches that I have ever seen (including beaches I have visited abroad). The local seaside villages we visited were so pretty and the locals that we met seemed very friendly. Having heard a lot over the years about Salcombe I was eager to visit and I was not disappointed. Although seemingly quite a small place it had a relaxed yet cosmopolitan feel about it.

We can not recommend the cottages highly enough - they were just what we needed for our big 'families' break. The journey home was mixture of euphoria from such a wonderful break in the cottages and a sad one because we had left! We could have happily stayed there for a lot longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing