We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Will certainly return whenever I am near Plymouth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overcombe House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Overcombe House
Ranked #1 of 3 Horrabridge B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Will certainly return whenever I am near Plymouth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is not the first time I have stayed at Overcome House. When I was a child I lived in Yelverton and, sixty years on, I love returning to this part of the world. I hope to come back soon with my partner with whom I can enjoy not just the excellent Overcome hospitality but also the matchless beauty of Dartmoor. There could be no better base than Overcome House and no better hosts than David and John.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
62
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

A trip for business, what a loverly stay, never had such a up market breakfast before in a B and B.

Will be coming back here again soon
Thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medicworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

We have stayed here three times and certainly when visiting this part of Devon would not consider staying anywhere else.

Everything is just as you would wish from a B and B in the country. It is clean,comfortable with excellent breakfasts. We particularly enjoy the quiz on the menu cards!!

David and John are very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and the room had a view over the hills & was clean. John & David are very helpfull but not intrussive and they have incorporated little touches from other stays in hotels which make a difference.
The Hotel is ideally located for getting onto dartmoor. There are footpaths from the hotel out onto dartmoor but some routes require road walking in places. Off road parking so you can leave the car behind with no worries.
You can walk to a couple of pubs in the near village. Both provided food but the nearest of the two seemed to have a cheif that dsided when he wanted to stop cooking so I advice you book in that one for food.
Breakfasts were very good. great selection. I would definately recommend staying.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Hotel rooms with good facilities for guests in wheelchairs are hard to find and this 1 has all you need including a roll in shower.
Very helpful when making the reservation including measuring the height of the bed for me.
On arrival received friendly greeting with tray of tea and biscuits offered and produced in addition to tea and coffee making facilities / bottled water, in the room.Room of adequate size, clean and well equipt. Very comfortable bed. Good selection at breakfast including home made bread and locally sourced produce. Strong emphasis on recycling throughout.
Will be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Hotel has only one room adapted for wheelchair use
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindertoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horrabridge
3.9 km away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
5.8 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
8.0 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Rockmount
Rockmount
#3 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.7 km away
Barnabas House
Barnabas House
#1 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.5 km away
Harrabeer Country House
Harrabeer Country House
#2 of 7 in Yelverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overcombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overcombe House

Property: Overcombe House
Address: Old Station Road, Horrabridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 7RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Horrabridge
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Horrabridge
Price range (per night): $142 - $161
Hotel Class:4 star — Overcombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Overcombe House' an award winning guest accommodation that can be your sanctuary in Devon's delightful Dartmoor National Park. Our most popular Classic rooms & our spacious breakfast room have stunning views over Dartmoor towards North Hessary Tor & Leather Tor. We are just a short distance from the historic market town of Tavistock & there is easy access to the ancient maritime city of Plymouth; whilst having all the benefits and amenities of Dartmoor National Park & the adjacent Tamar Valley area of outstanding natural beauty on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Overcombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing