We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will certainly return whenever I am near Plymouth”
Review of Overcombe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Overcombe House
Ranked #1 of 3 Horrabridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is not the first time I have stayed at Overcome House. When I was a child I lived in Yelverton and, sixty years on, I love returning to this part of the world. I hope to come back soon with my partner with whom I can enjoy not just the excellent Overcome hospitality but also the matchless beauty of Dartmoor. There could be no better base than Overcome House and no better hosts than David and John.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

A trip for business, what a loverly stay, never had such a up market breakfast before in a B and B.

Will be coming back here again soon
Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medicworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We have stayed here three times and certainly when visiting this part of Devon would not consider staying anywhere else.

Everything is just as you would wish from a B and B in the country. It is clean,comfortable with excellent breakfasts. We particularly enjoy the quiz on the menu cards!!

David and John are very knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and the room had a view over the hills & was clean. John & David are very helpfull but not intrussive and they have incorporated little touches from other stays in hotels which make a difference.
The Hotel is ideally located for getting onto dartmoor. There are footpaths from the hotel out onto dartmoor but some routes require road walking in places. Off road parking so you can leave the car behind with no worries.
You can walk to a couple of pubs in the near village. Both provided food but the nearest of the two seemed to have a cheif that dsided when he wanted to stop cooking so I advice you book in that one for food.
Breakfasts were very good. great selection. I would definately recommend staying.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Hotel rooms with good facilities for guests in wheelchairs are hard to find and this 1 has all you need including a roll in shower.
Very helpful when making the reservation including measuring the height of the bed for me.
On arrival received friendly greeting with tray of tea and biscuits offered and produced in addition to tea and coffee making facilities / bottled water, in the room.Room of adequate size, clean and well equipt. Very comfortable bed. Good selection at breakfast including home made bread and locally sourced produce. Strong emphasis on recycling throughout.
Will be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Hotel has only one room adapted for wheelchair use
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindertoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horrabridge
3.8 km away
Moorland Garden Hotel
Moorland Garden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yelverton
613 reviews
6.0 km away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
173 reviews
5.8 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Barnabas House
Barnabas House
#1 of 9 in Yelverton
320 reviews
0.7 km away
The Old School Guesthouse
The Old School Guesthouse
#2 of 3 in Horrabridge
84 reviews
1.3 km away
Harrabeer Country House
Harrabeer Country House
#2 of 9 in Yelverton
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Horrabridge

Been to Overcombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overcombe House

Address: Old Station Road, Horrabridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 7RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Horrabridge
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Horrabridge
Price Range: $150 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overcombe House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Overcombe House' an award winning guest accommodation that can be your sanctuary in Devon's delightful Dartmoor National Park. Our most popular Classic rooms & our spacious breakfast room have stunning views over Dartmoor towards North Hessary Tor & Leather Tor. We are just a short distance from the historic market town of Tavistock & there is easy access to the ancient maritime city of Plymouth; whilst having all the benefits and amenities of Dartmoor National Park & the adjacent Tamar Valley area of outstanding natural beauty on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Overcombe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing